Deleting Instances of Notification Services
Deleting an instance of Notification Services deletes the instance and application data and removes Notification Services instance metadata from the instance of the Database Engine.
|Deleting an instance is irreversible. To preserve instance and application data, back up your databases before deleting the instance.|
When you delete an instance of Notification Services always deletes the instance and application data. Depending on the circumstances, deleting an instance of Notification Services might also delete the instance and application databases:
If Notification Services created the databases for instance or application data, deleting the instance also deletes the databases. Notification Services creates the databases if you specify new database names or no database names when defining applications and configuring the instance.
If you specified the names of existing databases for instance and application data when you configured the instance and defined the applications, Notification Services deletes all instance and application objects from the databases, with the exception of event chronicle tables and subscription chronicle tables.
For more information about defining the instance database, see Defining the Instance Database.
For more information about defining application databases, see Defining the Application Database.
To delete an instance of Notification Services
After deleting an instance, unregister the instance to remove registry entries, performance counters, and, if present, the Microsoft Windows service.
ConceptsBacking Up Notification Services Databases and Operational Files
Other ResourcesAdministering Notification Services
Updating Instances and Applications