Export (0) Print
Expand All
Expand Minimize

Backup for an archived computer

Published: October 20, 2010

Updated: March 30, 2011

Applies To: Windows Small Business Server 2011 Essentials

When you remove a computer from the network, you can choose to keep the backups for the computer or to delete them. If you keep the backups, they move into the Archived computer backups section on the Computers and Backups tab in the Dashboard. You may choose to keep the backups when a client computer is lost or is being re-purposed for something new, but you may want to keep the backup of the data from the archived computer backups.

You can use the archived computer backups to:

  • Restore files and folders using the Restore Files and Folders wizard.

  • Perform a client computer restore using the Full System Restore wizard.

To archive a computer backup

  1. Open the Dashboard.

  2. Click the Computers and Backup tab.

  3. Click the computer that you want to archive, and then click Remove the computer in the Tasks pane.

  4. On the Do you really want to remove this computer from the server page, click Yes.

  5. On the Archive the backups for this computer page, verify that the Archive the backups for this computer on the server checkbox is checked, and then click Remove computer.

  6. Click Close when the wizard finishes removing the computer. The computer is now listed in the Archived computer backups section on the Computers and Backups tab.

When you no longer need the archived computer backups, you can delete them from the server.

To delete archived computer backups

  1. Open the Dashboard.

  2. Click the Computers and Backup tab.

  3. Click the archived computer backup in the Archived computer backups section that you want to delete, and then click Remove the computer in the Tasks pane.

  4. Follow the instructions in the wizard.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft