Export (0) Print
Expand All

Deactivate a user account in Project Server 2007

Updated: December 20, 2007

Updated: 2007-12-20

At times, you may need to make Project Server user accounts unavailable. When you deactivate a user account, that user’s information and data remains in the database, but the user is unavailable for new assignments. The user account is inactive until it is reactivated.

Deactivating a user account means that it can no longer be used to log on to Office Project Server 2007. Users cannot use this account to send assignment updates, request status reports, or delegate tasks.

NoteNote:

User accounts, when deactivated, are not actually deleted from the Project Server database. This is to ensure that any relationships that resource might have with project data can be preserved in case the account is reactivated later.

Before you perform this procedure, confirm that:

  • You have read Manage users in Project Server 2007.

  • You have access to Office Project Server 2007 through Project Web Access.

  • The user account you are deactivating truly needs to be deactivated.

    ImportantImportant:

    The Manage users and groups global permission in Office Project Server 2007 is required to complete this procedure.

To deactivate a user account

Use this procedure to deactivate an active Office Project Server 2007 user account. After using this procedure, the account will not be able to access Office Project Server 2007 until it has been reactivated.

Deactivate a user account

  1. On the Project Web Access home page, in the Quick Launch, click Server Settings.

  2. On the Server Settings page, in the Security section, click Manage Users.

  3. On the Manage Users page, in the Users list, find the user account you want to deactivate. (You can use the Search box to search for a specific user.) Click the check box next to the user name of the account you want to deactivate. Note that you can select multiple user accounts.

  4. Click Deactivate Users.

  5. A message box will appear asking confirmation. Click OK to deactivate the user account or user accounts.

See Also

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft