Export (0) Print
Expand All

Delete a security group (Project Server permission mode)

Project Server 2013
 

Applies to: Project Server 2013

Topic Last Modified: 2013-12-18

Summary: Delete custom security groups by using the Manage Groups page in Project Web App Settings.

In Project Server permission mode, if you no longer need a security group in Project Web App, you can delete it. Before you delete a group, ensure that no other users or groups are dependent on it for required permissions.

NoteNote:
If you are using SharePoint permission mode, see Plan SharePoint groups in Project Server 2013 for information about managing users in Project Web App.

NoteNote:
Because SharePoint 2013 runs as websites in Internet Information Services (IIS), administrators and users depend on the accessibility features that browsers provide. SharePoint 2013 supports the accessibility features of supported browsers. For more information, see the following resources:

Before you begin this operation, review the following information about prerequisites:

  • Read Manage users in Project Server 2013.

  • You must have access to Project Web App.

    ImportantImportant:
    The Manage users and groups global permission in Project Web App is required to complete this procedure.

Perform the following procedure to delete a group in Project Web App.

ImportantImportant:
We highly recommend that you not delete the default Project Web App groups. The Team Members group cannot be deleted.
To delete a custom group
  1. On the Project Web App home page, on the Settings menu, click Server Settings.

  2. On the Server Settings page, in the Security section, click Manage Groups.

  3. On the Manage Groups page, in the Group Name list, find the group you want to delete. Select the check box next to the group that you want to delete. Note that you can select multiple groups.

  4. Click Delete Group.

  5. A message box appears, asking for confirmation and noting that the group will be permanently removed. Click OK to delete the group.

    NoteNote:
    Security groups are permanently deleted, unlike deactivated user accounts (which can be reactivated). If you delete a security group and then find that you want to have it again, you must recreate it.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft