Export (0) Print
Expand All

Remove a workflow association (SharePoint Server 2010)

Published: May 12, 2010

You add a workflow by associating it with a list, document library, content type, or site. You remove a workflow by disassociating it from a list, document library, content type, or site. Optionally, you can prevent new instances of a workflow from starting but still let all running workflow instances to finish.

In this article:

Remove a workflow association from a list or document library

Use the following steps to remove a workflow association from a list or document library.

To remove a workflow association from a list or document library

  1. Verify that you have the following administrative credentials:

    • You must be a member of the Site Owners group on the SharePoint site that you are configuring.

  2. Browse to the list or library from which you want to remove a workflow.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • For a list, on the List Tools tab, click List.

    • In the Settings group, click List Settings.

    • For a library, on the Library Tools tab, click Library.

    • In the Settings group, click Library Settings.

  4. On the List Settings or Library Settings page, in the Permissions and Management section, click Workflow Settings.

  5. On the Workflow Settings page, click Remove a workflow.

    note Note:

    The Remove a workflow link is not displayed if no workflows are associated with the list or library.

  6. On the Remove Workflows page, find the workflow that you want to remove and choose from the following options:

    • Select No New Instances to prevent new instances of this workflow from running but still allow for running instances to finish.

      After all running workflows are finished, you can return to this page to completely remove the workflow association.

    • Select Remove to prevent new instances of this workflow from running and remove all instances of this workflow. This option removes instances that are already running.

  7. Click OK.

Remove a workflow association from a list or library content type

Use the following steps to remove a workflow from a list or library content type.

To remove a workflow association from a list or library content type

  1. Verify that you have the following administrative credentials:

    • You must be a member of the Site Owners group on the SharePoint site that you are configuring.

  2. Open the list or library that contains the content type from which you want to remove a workflow association.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • For a list, on the List Tools tab, click List.

    • In the Settings group, click List Settings.

    • For a library, on the Library Tools tab, click Library.

    • In the Settings group, click Library Settings.

  4. On the List Settings or Library Settings page, in the Content Types section, click the name of the content type for which you want to remove a workflow.

    note Note:

    If the list or library is not set up to allow multiple content types, the Content Types section is not displayed. For more information, see Introduction to content types and content type publishing (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=184649).

  5. On the List Settings or Library Settings page, in the Settings section, click Workflow settings.

  6. On the Workflow Settings page, click Remove a workflow.

    note Note:

    The Remove a workflow link is not displayed if no workflows are associated with the selected content type.

  7. On the Remove Workflows page, find the workflow that you want to remove and choose from the following options:

    • Select No New Instances to prevent new instances of this workflow from running but still allow for running instances to finish.

      After all running workflows are finished, you can return to this page to completely remove the workflow association.

    • Select Remove to prevent new instances of this workflow from running and remove all instances of this workflow. This option removes instances that are already running.

  8. Click OK.

Remove a workflow association from a site content type

Use the following steps to remove a workflow from a site content type.

To remove a workflow association from a site content type

  1. Verify that you have the following administrative credentials:

    • You must be a member of the Site Owners group on the SharePoint site that you are configuring.

  2. Browse to the site where you want to modify a workflow that is associated with a site content type.

    note Note:

    Site content types that are inherited from another site, for example, the top-level site of a site collection, must be removed from the site from which they are inherited.

  3. On the home page for the site, on the Site Actions menu, click Site Settings.

  4. On the Site Settings page, in the Galleries section, click Site content types.

  5. On the Site Content Types page, in the Site Content Type column, click the content type from which you want to remove a workflow association.

    note Note:

    You cannot modify site content types that are inherited from another site, such as the top-level site of a site collection. In this case, go to the site from which the site content type is inherited to remove the workflow association.

  6. On the Site Content Types page, in the Settings section, click Workflow settings.

  7. On the Workflow Settings page, click Remove a workflow.

    note Note:

    The Remove a workflow link is not displayed if no workflows are associated with the selected site content type.

  8. On the Remove Workflows page, find the workflow that you want to remove and choose from the following options:

    • Select No New Instances to prevent new instances of this workflow but still allow for running instances to finish.

      After all running workflows are finished, you can return to this page to completely remove the workflow association.

    • Select Remove to remove all instances of this workflow. This option removes instances that are already running.

  9. Click OK.

  10. If the Apply changes to all content types inheriting from this type message appears, click OK.

Remove a workflow association from a site

Use the following steps to remove a workflow from a site.

To remove a workflow association from a site

  1. Verify that you have the following administrative credentials:

    • You must be a member of the Site Owners group on the SharePoint site that you are configuring.

  2. Go to the site from which you want to remove a workflow.

  3. On the Site Actions menu, click Site Settings.

  4. On the Site Settings page, in the Site Administration section, click Workflow settings.

  5. On the Workflow Settings page, click Remove a workflow.

    note Note:

    The Remove a workflow link is only displayed if a site workflow is currently associated with the site.

  6. On the Remove Workflows page, find the workflow that you want to remove and choose from the following options:

    • Select No New Instances to prevent new instances of this workflow but still allow for running instances to finish.

      After all running workflows are finished, you can return to this page to completely remove the workflow association.

    • Select Remove to remove all instances of this workflow. This option removes instances that are already running.

  7. Click OK.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft