Export (0) Print
Expand All

Manage profile services policies

SharePoint 2007

Applies To: Office SharePoint Server 2007

When planning for personalization of your portal sites, you must carefully consider the availability of information about people in your organization. Not all information is appropriate for everyone to see. Some information should only be available to users and administrators to preserve privacy, while other information can and should be shared freely with other people in order to encourage collaboration. You can use profile services polices to control the visibility of this information.

The procedure below covers editing the settings of a single policy (the SharePoint Site policy) which contains the most common policy settings. Managing other policies may vary.

  1. Open the administration page for the Shared Services Provider (SSP).

    To open the administration page for the SSP, do the following:

    1. On the top navigation bar, click Application Management.

    2. On the Application Management page, in the Office SharePoint Server Shared Services section, click Create or configure this farm’s shared services.

    3. On the Manage this Farm’s Shared Services page, there is a link to each SSP and links to the Web applications for each SSP. Click the link for the SSP that you want to open.

  2. On the Shared Services Administration Home page, in the User Profiles and My Sites section, click Profile services policies.

  3. On the Manage Policy page, point to the policy that you want to edit, and select Edit Policy from the menu that appears.

  4. On the Edit Policy page, in the Policy Settings section, in the Policy Setting list, select one of the following:

    • Enabled   The property or feature is shared based on visibility.

    • Disabled   The property or feature is not visible to anyone except the SSP administrator. It does not show up in personalized sites or Web Parts, and cannot be shared.

  5. In the Default Privacy Setting list, you can select who can see this property or feature.

    • Only Me   Only the user can see the property or feature.

    • My Manager   Only the user and the user's immediate manager can see the information.

    • My Workgroup   Every user reporting to the same immediate manager can see the information.

    • My Colleagues   Everyone in the user's My Colleagues list can see the information.

    • Everyone   Every user with View permissions for the site can see the information.

  6. Clear the User can override check box if you do not want the user to be able to override the policy's settings.

    With this option selected, each user can decide whether a property can be edited and who can see the property. If override is not selected, only administrators can change editing and visibility settings.

  7. Click OK.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft