Export (0) Print
Expand All
This topic has not yet been rated - Rate this topic

Perform post-upgrade steps for a gradual upgrade (Windows SharePoint Services)

SharePoint 2007

Updated: March 5, 2009

Applies To: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0

Updated: 2009-03-05

After you have upgraded your sites, there may still be a few things that you need to do before you are ready to finish the upgrade. Depending on your environment, you may need to:

If you have upgraded all sites and you no longer need the original environment, then after you complete the steps below you can go on to Finalize upgrade (Windows SharePoint Services).

Delete any upgraded and confirmed 2.0 sites

After you have upgraded the original sites and confirmed that the upgraded instances of the sites are ready to use, you can start to clean up the 2.0 sites. You can delete the original sites in batches, as they are upgraded, and then continue to clean up upgraded sites over time. When all sites have been upgraded and are no longer needed, delete any remaining original sites, and then continue on to remove the language packs and then Finalize upgrade (Windows SharePoint Services). If some sites cannot be upgraded successfully, continue to run both versions side-by-side until the sites are no longer needed, or until you can migrate the content into a new site. You can use autodelete to automatically delete upgraded sites.

Remove Windows SharePoint Services 2.0 language packs

You must install the Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 language packs before you can upgrade sites in the corresponding 2.0 languages. After you have upgraded the sites to use the new language packs, you can remove the old version of the language pack.

NoteNote:

Language packs for different languages will be made available at different times; check back periodically if you need a language that is not yet available.

Reapply blocked file type settings

After you upgrade, you can reapply the blocked file type settings that you saved before you upgraded.

For information about how to save blocked file type settings, see Save blocked file type settings (Windows SharePoint Services).

Use the following procedure to reapply the blocked file type settings after you upgrade.

Reapply blocked file type settings

  1. Open the Notepad file that contains the file name extensions that you saved before the upgrade.

  2. On the Edit menu, click Select All, and then click Copy.

  3. In Windows SharePoint Services 3.0, on the Central Administration page, in the Security Configuration section, click Blocked file types.

  4. Right-click in the area where the file name extensions are listed, and paste a copy of the previously saved file name extensions at the end of this list.

    NoteNote:

    The application allows duplicate file name extensions to appear on the list, so you do not need to delete anything.

  5. Click OK to save the file.

Download this book

This topic is included in the following downloadable book for easier reading and printing:

See the full list of available books at Downloadable books for Windows SharePoint Services.

Did you find this helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.