About content approval
|Archived content. No warranty is made as to technical accuracy. Content may contain URLs that were valid when originally published, but now link to sites or pages that no longer exist.|
Content approval allows you to create a list or library where any items or files that are submitted by users are not visible to all site users until the items or files have been approved by a site administrator or a user belonging to a site group with the Manage Lists right. Users can view a list of the items that they submit and check approval statuses. Adminstrators and users with the Manage Lists right use the Approve/reject items view of the list or library to set an item or file to approved, rejected, or pending. They can also enter comments regarding their decisions. For example, you can create a discussion board where all new discussion threads and replies must be approved before all site users can view them
Submissions by site administrators or users with the Manage Lists right are automatically approved. However, other administrators or users with the Manage Lists right can still reject the items.
Note: Rejecting an item or file does not delete it or prevent users from viewing it. Users can also view pending items. To help prevent users from viewing rejected or pending items, the submitter or a user who is a member of the Administrator site group or a site group with the Manage Lists right must manually delete the items.