Export (0) Print
Expand All

Log off or disconnect

Updated: January 21, 2005

Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 R2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, Windows Server 2003 with SP2

Log off or disconnect

Terminal Services provides two options when closing a client session: you can either log off or disconnect.

Disconnecting leaves the session running on the server. You can reconnect to the server and resume the session. If you are running a task on the server, such as running a time consuming query on a database, you can start the task and disconnect from the session. Later, you can log back onto the server, reenter the session, and check the results. This is especially helpful when operating over a remote access connection on a long-distance toll line. For information about how to disconnect from a Terminal Services session, see Disconnect without ending a session.

Network administrators can limit the amount of time a disconnected session is allowed to remain on the server. For more information, see Set time-out settings for disconnected, active, and idle sessions.

Logging off ends the session running on the server. Any applications running within the session will be closed and unsaved changes made to open files will be lost. The next time you log onto the server, a new session is created. For information about how to log off from a Terminal Services session, see Log off and end the session.

If printer redirection is enabled for the session, when the session is disconnected or logged off, the printer queue is deleted and any incomplete or pending print jobs are lost.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft