Export (0) Print
Expand All

Delete Queues

When you delete a queue, all messages within the queue are also deleted. However, the triggers associated with that queue are not deleted. If you later re-create a queue of the same name, this queue will use any existing triggers. The Message Queuing Triggers service will not monitor this re-created queue until the computer is restarted, or until the associated triggers are disabled, and then enabled again.

Deleting queues

To delete queues

  1. Open Computer Management.

  2. In the console tree, right-click the queue.

    Where?

    • Computer Management/Services and Applications/Message Queuing/YourQueueFolder (such as Public Queues or Private Queues)/YourQueue

  3. Click Delete.

  4. When prompted, click Yes to delete the queue.

Additional considerations

  • To open Computer Management on Windows Vista®, click Start, right-click Computer, and then click Manage.

  • To open Computer Management on Windows Server® 2008, click Start, point to Programs, point to Administrative Tools, and then click Computer Management.

  • You cannot delete queues in the Outgoing Queues or System Queues folder.

  • For instructions on creating a trigger, see Create Triggers.

  • For instructions on setting the enabled or disabled property for a trigger, see View or Change Properties of Triggers and Rules for Triggers.

Additional references

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft