Export (0) Print
Expand All

Delete a Volume

Applies To: Windows Server 2008 R2

You can delete any volume listed on the Volumes tab in Share and Storage Management, except for a system or boot volume.

CautionCaution
When you delete a volume, all data and configuration information for the volume is also deleted, including all shared folders. If the volume contains any data, make certain that it has been appropriately backed up before deleting the volume.

Membership in Administrators, or equivalent, is the minimum required to complete this procedure. Review details about using the appropriate accounts and group memberships at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=83477.

To delete a volume
  1. On the Volumes tab, click the volume that you want to delete.

  2. In the Actions pane, click Delete.

  3. In the Delete Volume dialog box, review the warning and, if you still want to continue, select Yes, and then click OK.

Additional considerations

  • If the volume that you delete is the last volume on a LUN, the LUN is reclaimed and the space is then available for creating new LUNs.

  • If the volume you deleted is not the last volume on a LUN, you can use Disk Management to create a new volume in the space that was previously allocated to the deleted volume.

  • To open Share and Storage Management, click Start, point to Administrative Tools, and then click Share and Storage Management.

Additional references

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft