Export (0) Print
Expand All

Delete a user account

Updated: January 21, 2005

Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 R2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, Windows Server 2003 with SP2

To delete a user account

Using the Windows interface

  1. Open Active Directory Users and Computers.

  2. In the console tree, click Users.

    Where?

    • Active Directory Users and Computers/domain node/Users

    Or, click the folder that contains the user account.

  3. In the details pane, right-click the user account, and then click Delete.

Notes

  • To perform this procedure, you must be a member of the Account Operators group, Domain Admins group, or the Enterprise Admins group in Active Directory, or you must have been delegated the appropriate authority. As a security best practice, consider using Run as to perform this procedure. For more information, see Default local groups, Default groups, and Using Run as.

  • To open Active Directory Users and Computers, click Start, click Control Panel, double-click Administrative Tools, and then double-click Active Directory Users and Computers.

  • Once a user account has been deleted, all permissions and memberships associated with that user account are permanently deleted. Because the security ID (SID) for each account is unique, a new user account with the same name as a previously deleted user account does not automatically assume the permissions and memberships of the previously deleted account. To duplicate a deleted user account, all permissions and memberships must be manually recreated.

Using a command line

  1. Open Command Prompt.

  2. Type:

    dsrmObjectDN

 

Value Description

ObjectDN

Specifies the distinguished name of the user object to be deleted.

Notes

  • To perform this procedure, you must be a member of the Account Operators group, Domain Admins group, or the Enterprise Admins group in Active Directory, or you must have been delegated the appropriate authority. As a security best practice, consider using Run as to perform this procedure. For more information, see Default local groups, Default groups, and Using Run as.

  • To open a command prompt, click Start, point to All programs, point to Accessories, and then click Command prompt.

  • Once a user account has been deleted, all permissions and memberships associated with that user account are permanently deleted. Because the security ID (SID) for each account is unique, a new user account with the same name as a previously deleted user account does not automatically assume the permissions and memberships of the previously deleted account. To duplicate a deleted user account, all permissions and memberships must be manually recreated.

  • To view the complete syntax for this command, at a command prompt, type:

    dsrm /?

Information about functional differences

  • Your server might function differently based on the version and edition of the operating system that is installed, your account permissions, and your menu settings. For more information, see Viewing Help on the Web.

See Also

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft