Export (0) Print
Expand All
Expand Minimize

Move users' shared data for Windows SBS 2011 Standard migration

Published: January 28, 2011

Updated: January 28, 2011

Applies To: Windows Small Business Server 2011 Standard

noteNote
This is an optional task.

To migrate users’ shared data

  1. On the Destination Server, in the Migration Wizard, click Migrate users’ shared data, and then click Next.

  2. Perform the following tasks, as described in this section:

    1. Copy users’ shared folders to the Destination Server

    2. Copy additional shared folders to the Destination Server

    3. Create shared folders and restore permissions on the Destination Server

  3. When you finish migrating shared data, return to the Migration Wizard on the Destination Server, click Task Complete on the Migrate shared data page, and then click Next.

Copy users’ shared folders to the Destination Server

Copy the users’ shared folders to the Destination Server by using RoboCopy.

noteNote
Disk quotas are enabled on the Destination Server for the partition where the user’s shared folder is located. If you changed the disk quotas on the Source Server, you must ensure that the disk quotas on the Destination Server match or exceed the disk quotas on the Source Server. For more information about modifying the default quotas for all users, on the Destination Server, click Start, click Help and Support, and then search for “set disk space quotas for all users”.

To copy users’ shared folders

  1. On the Destination Server, click Start, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator.

  2. On the User Account Control page, click Continue.

  3. At the command prompt, type the following:

    Robocopy \\ <SourceServerName> \Users \\ <DestinationServerName> \UserShares /E /COPY:DATSOU /R:10 /LOG:C:\Copyresults.txt

    noteNote
    RoboCopy is an alternative to Xcopy, and is a standard feature in Windows Server 7. For more information about RoboCopy, see the Robocopy website.

  4. View C:\Copyresults.txt to verify that the files were copied correctly. You can also compare the number and size of the files that were in the users’ shared folders on the Source Server with the number and size of the files that are now on the Destination Server.

ImportantImportant
Xcopy and RoboCopy do not support migrating encrypted files.

Copy additional shared folders to the Destination Server

noteNote
When you copy additional shared folders, line-of-business application folders, and general user data folders to the Destination Server, you are only copying the folders; you are not sharing them. After you migrate user accounts and groups, you must share the folders and set permissions.

If you are using a logon script to map drives to the shared folders, you must update the script to map to the drives on the Destination Server.

To copy folders to the Destination Server

  1. On the Destination Server, click Start, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator.

  2. On the User Account Control page, click Continue.

  3. At the command prompt, type the following:

    robocopy \\<SourceServerName>\<ShareName>\<disk>:\<FolderName> /E /R:10 /COPY:DATSOU /LOG:C:\Copyresults.txt, where <disk>:\<FolderName> is the physical location that you want to copy to your Destination Server.

  4. Repeat step 3 for additional folders that you want to copy to the Destination Server.

noteNote
If you copy a folder to the same partition as the users’ shared folders, disk quotas will also apply. For more information about modifying the default quotas for all users, on the Destination Server, click Start, click Help and Support, and then search for “Set disk space quotas for all users”.

Create shared folders and restore permissions on the Destination Server

ImportantImportant
Incorrectly editing the registry might severely damage your system. Before making changes to the registry, you should back up any valued data on the computer.

noteNote
You do not need to perform this procedure if you are only going to migrate the built-in shared system folders such as Public, UserShares, and RedirectedFolders.

To save only the existing shared folder names and their permissions

  1. On the Source Server that contains the shared folder names and permissions that you want to save, start Regedit.

    CautionCaution
    Incorrectly editing the registry might severely damage your system. Before making changes to the registry, you should back up any valued data on the computer.

  2. From the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE sub-tree, go to the following key:

    SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Shares

  3. Save or export the registry key.

  4. Type the file name old_registry, and then save on the Source Server.

  5. Leave values for shared folders that you want to migrate and copy to the Destination Server. Delete the others.

    noteNote
    Delete the built-in shared system folders including Public, UserShares,and RedirectedFolders from the registry as you do not need to migrate the settings for these shared folders.

  6. Repeat step 5 for

    SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Shares\Security

  7. For the shared folders that you copied to a different location on the Destination Server, double-click the value and change the path to the current storage location on the Destination Server.

  8. Save or export the edited registry key.

  9. Type the file name share_registry, and then save the file.

  10. Double-click old_registry to restore to the original registry on the Source Server, and then click Run. Click OK twice.

  11. Copy the share_registry files to the Destination Server.

  12. On the Destination Server, double-click share_registry, and then click Run. Click OK twice.

    CautionCaution
    This step overrides the shared folders that already exist on the Windows computer with the names and permissions that exist in the file you are restoring. You are warned about this before you restore the key.

  13. Restart the Server service, Netlogon service, and Microsoft Exchange Information Store services.

  14. In the Windows SBS 2011 Standard Console, click Shared Folders, and verify the shared folders and permissions. Only permissions of domain users are migrated.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft