Export (0) Print
Expand All

Project Sites (Project Server 2010 settings)

Published: March 31, 2011

The Project Sites setting is available through the Microsoft Project Server 2010 Server Settings page in the Operational Policies section. For more information about related administrative settings, see Operational Policies (Project Server 2010 settings).

Configure the Project Sites setting

Project sites were known as Project Workspaces in previous versions of Project Server. The Project Sites page in Server Settings lets you manage project sites in Project Server 2010. You can do the following through the Project Sites page:

  • Create a new project site

  • Edit a project site address

  • Synchronize

  • Delete a project site

  • Go to Project Site Settings

Create site

Create Site lets you create a new project site for your project if you did not create one when the project was originally published to Project Server 2010. You can view the Project Sites list to determine whether a project has an existing site. A project without a project site does not have a corresponding URL next to it in the Site Address column.

To create a project site

  1. On the Server Settings page, in the Operational Policies section, click Project Sites.

  2. From the Project Name list, select a project for which you want to create the project site.

  3. Click Create Site.

    The Create Project Site dialog box appears.

  4. In the Web Application list, select the Web Application that you want for the project site.

  5. In the Site URL field, verify the site URL for the project site. You can edit the site URL information, if necessary. The site URL is appended to the Web Application name to provide the destination URL (as seen in the Destination URL field).

  6. Click OK.

    The project site you created now appears next to the project name that you selected in step 2.

Edit Site Address

Edit Site Address lets you edit the destination URL for a project site to point to a new site address. Changing the site address information breaks the existing link between the project and the existing project site. You can then enter the information for the new project site.

note Note:

Before changing the project site URL for a project, be sure to provision a new project site with a new site template.

To edit a site address for a project site

  1. On the Server Settings page, in the Operational Policies section, click Project Sites.

  2. From the Project Name list, select a project for which you want to edit the project site information.

  3. Click Edit Site Address.

    The Edit Site Address dialog box appears.

  4. Change the project site URL to the new URL.

  5. Click Test URL to verify whether the new project site URL can be opened.

  6. Click OK.

    The project site URL for the project you selected in step 2 is changed to the new URL.

Synchronize

Synchronize lets you manually synchronize the project site’s users, permissions, and other Project Server-related information between Project Server 2010 and the Web server that is running Microsoft SharePoint Foundation 2010.

If you want to automatically run synchronization for your project sites, see the Automatic Provisioning option that is available in Project Site Provisioning Settings (Project Server 2010 settings).

To synchronize your project site information between Project Server and SharePoint Foundation

  1. On the Server Settings page, in the Operational Policies section, click Project Sites.

  2. From the Project Name list, select a project for which you want to synchronize your Project site information between Project Server 2010 and SharePoint Foundation.

  3. Click Synchronize.

    note Note:

    To view a confirmation that synchronization occurred, you can view the Manage Queue Job settings in Project Web App Server Settings and verify that the synchronization job completed successfully.

Delete Site

Delete Site lets you permanently remove a project site and its content.

Important Important:

Before you proceed, verify that you want to permanently remove a site and its content. Deleted project sites are not recoverable.

To delete a project site

  1. On the Server Settings page, in the Operational Policies section, click Project Sites.

  2. From the Project Name list, select a project for which you want to delete a project site.

  3. Click Delete Site.

    A message box appears that asks you to confirm whether you want to delete the project site. It also warns you that you will also be deleting all documents, issues, risks, and deliverables that are associated with the site.

  4. Click OK to proceed with deleting the site. Click Cancel if you no longer want to delete the site.

  5. If you clicked OK, the project site is deleted and no longer appears next to the project it was associated with on the Project Sites page.

Go to Project Site Settings

Go to Project Site Settings lets you go directly to a Project Site’s site settings page. From the Site Settings page, you can make changes to the site, such as adding or removing users, adding Web Parts to the site, customizing the site’s look and feel, and many others.

To go to the Site Settings page for a project site

  1. On the Server Settings page, in the Operational Policies section, click Project Sites.

  2. From the Project Name list, select a project for which you want to view the Project Site settings page.

  3. Click Go to Project Site Settings.

  4. The Site Settings page for the selected project site opens. You can make changes to the site settings from this page.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft