Export (0) Print
Expand All

About expired subscriptions

Published: June 8, 2012

Updated: February 27, 2014

noteNote
This topic provides online help content for cloud services, such as Windows Intune and Office 365, which rely on Windows Azure Active Directory for identity and directory services.

Your organization has purchased one or more Microsoft cloud services. As an administrator, you can assign licenses to individuals within your organization to use these subscriptions.

noteNote
These subscriptions are purchased for a specific period of time. If your company cancels a subscription, the subscription is disabled immediately. However, global and billing administrators can access data until the subscription is removed. To renew the subscription, contact Support.

When a subscription expires, the subscription enters a brief grace period during which global and billing administrators receive notification email messages and see alerts when they log in to the cloud service sign-in page that warn that the subscription will soon be disabled.

noteNote
Administrators can view the status of all subscriptions on the Billing and subscription management page and confirm which subscriptions have expired.

During this grace period, you can contact Support to renew the expired subscription, or a global or user management administrator can disassociate users from the expired subscription and reassign them to a new subscription. Users continue to have access to the subscription during the grace period.

If you do not renew the subscription, the subscription will soon be disabled; user accounts assigned to the expired subscription are disabled, and users are unable to access the expired subscription. However, global and billing administrators can still access the subscription. You can contact Support to renew the subscription after it has been disabled. Users assigned to more than one subscription can continue to access subscriptions that are still active (have not expired). Administrators will continue to receive notifications until the expired subscription is removed or renewed. When a subscription is removed, all data is permanently lost.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

Show:
© 2014 Microsoft