Remove a user account
Published: April 26, 2010
Updated: October 4, 2012
Applies To: Windows Server 2012 Essentials
When you choose to remove a user account from the server, a wizard deletes the selected account. Because of this, you can no longer use the account to log on to the network or to access any of the network resources. As an option, you can also delete the files for the user account at the same time that you remove the account. If you do not want to permanently remove the user account, you can deactivate the user account instead to suspend access to network resources.
Open the Windows Server 2012 Essentials Dashboard.
On the navigation bar, click Users.
In the list of user accounts, select the user account that you want to remove.
In the <User Account> Tasks pane, click Remove the user account. The Delete a User Account wizard appears.
On the Do you want to keep the files? page of the wizard, you can choose to delete the user’s files, including File History backups and the redirected folder for the user account. To keep the user’s files, leave the check box empty. After making your selection, click Next.
Click Delete account.
|After you remove a user account, the account no longer appears in the list of user accounts. If you chose to delete the files, the server permanently deletes the user’s folder from the Users server folder and from the File History Backups server folder. If you have an integrated an email provider, the email account assigned to the user account will also be removed.|