Export (0) Print
Expand All
Expand Minimize

How to: Create, Delete, or Modify a Shared Schedule (Report Manager)

A shared schedule contains schedule and recurrence information that can be used by any number of published reports and subscriptions that run on a Reporting Services report server. If you have many reports and subscriptions that run at the same time, you can create a shared schedule for those jobs. If you want to subsequently change the recurrence pattern or the end date, you can make the change in one place.

Shared schedules are easier to maintain and give you more flexibility in managing scheduled operations. For example, you can pause and resume shared schedules. Also, if you find that too many scheduled operations are running at the same time, you can create multiple shared schedules that run at different times and then adjust the schedule information until the processing load evens out across the report server.

To create or modify a shared schedule

  1. Start Report Manager.

  2. In Report Manager, click Site Settingson the global toolbar.

  3. Click schedules.

  4. Click New Schedule. To modify an existing schedule, click the name of the schedule.

  5. Type a descriptive name for the schedule.

  6. Select Hour, Day, Week, or Month. Click Once to create a schedule that runs one time only. Additional options appear when you specify the basis of your schedule.

  7. Optionally select a date to start the schedule. The default is the current day. You can postpone the schedule start time by choosing a later date.

  8. Optionally, select a date to end the schedule. The schedule stops running on this date, but is not deleted.

  9. Click OK.

To delete a shared schedule

  1. In Report Manager, click Site Settingson the global toolbar.

    NoteNote

    If Site Settings is not available, you do not have permission to access site settings.

  2. In the Other section on the page, click Manage shared schedules.

  3. Select the check box next to the schedule you want to delete, and then click Delete.

If you delete a shared schedule that is used by multiple reports and subscriptions, the report server will create individual schedules for each report and subscription that previously used the shared schedule. Each new individual schedule will contain the date, time, and recurrence pattern that was specified in the shared schedule. Note that Reporting Services does not provide central management of individual schedules. If you delete a shared schedule, you will now have to maintain the schedule information for each individual item.

If you are not sure whether a shared schedule is used, consider deleting it in Management Studio instead. Management Studio provides the same shared schedule management features as Report Manager, but it provides an additional Reports page that shows you the name of each report that uses the schedule. For more information, see How to: Create, Delete, or Modify a Shared Schedule (Management Studio).

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft