Remove a user account
Published: April 26, 2010
Updated: March 30, 2011
Applies To: Windows Small Business Server 2011 Essentials
When you choose to remove a user account from the server, a wizard deletes the selected account. Because of this, you can no longer use the account to log on to the network or to access any of the network resources. As an option, you can also delete the files for the user account at the same time that you remove the account. If you do not want to permanently remove the user account, you can Deactivate a user account instead to temporarily suspend access to network resources.
To remove a user account
Open the Windows SBS 2011 Essentials Dashboard.
On the main navigation bar, click Users.
In the list of user accounts, select the user account that you want to remove.
In the <User Account> Tasks pane, click Remove the user account. The Delete a User Account Wizard appears.
If a shared folder exists for the user account, the wizard asks if you want to also delete the user’s files. If you want to delete the files, select Delete the files for this user account.
Click Delete account. On the next page of the wizard, confirm your action.
|After you remove a user account, the account no longer appears in the list of user accounts. If you chose to delete the files, the server permanently deleted the user’s folder from the Users storage drive.|
ConceptsDeactivate a user account