Export (0) Print
Expand All
Expand Minimize

Tell me more about resetting my server to factory default settings

Published: April 26, 2009

Updated: March 30, 2011

Applies To: Windows Home Server 2011

If you choose to reset your server to factory default settings, you can:

  • Reset the system to factory default settings and keep all of your data. All of the server configuration and other settings are deleted, and you must reconfigure your server. When the reset is complete, your server will restart. To reconfigure your server, from a client computer, open a web browser, and then type http://<YourServerName> in the address bar.

    noteNote
    You must uninstall the Windows Home Server 2011 connector software on all computers that were connected to the server. For more information, see How do I uninstall the Connector software?. After finishing the factory reset, you can connect client computers to the server again. For more information, see How do I connect computers to the server?

  • Reset the system to factory default settings and delete all of your data. All of the server configuration and other settings, and all data are deleted. All of the hard drives on your server are reformatted. Choose this option if you plan to decommission or repurpose the server.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft