Export (0) Print
Expand All
This topic has not yet been rated - Rate this topic

Log off or Disconnect User Sessions

Published: February 18, 2011

Applies To: Windows MultiPoint Server 2011

Standard users and administrative users can log on and log off of their desktop sessions as they would with any Windows session. Standard and administrative users can also disconnect or suspend their session so that the MultiPoint Server station is not being used, but their session remains active in the MultiPoint Server system’s computer memory.

In addition, administrative users can end a user’s session if the user has stepped away from their MultiPoint Server session or has forgotten to log off of the system.

Logging off or disconnecting a session

The following table describes the different options that you or any user can use to log off, suspend, or end a session.

 

Action

Effect

Click Start and then click Log Off.

You are prompted to save unsaved work. The session ends and the station is available for log on by any user.

Click Start, point to Log off, and then click Disconnect.

Your session is disconnected and your session is preserved in computer memory. The station becomes available for log on by the same user or a different user.

Click Start, point to Log off, and then click Lock.

The station is locked and your session is preserved in computer memory.

Suspending or ending a user’s session

The following table describes the different options that you, as an administrative user, can use to disconnect or end a user’s session.

 

Action

Effect

Suspend: In MultiPoint Manager, use the Stations tab to suspend the user’s session. For more information, see the Suspend and Leave User Session Active topic.

The user’s session ends and is preserved in computer memory. The station becomes available for log on by the same user or a different user. The user can log on to the same station or another station and continue with their work.

End: In MultiPoint Manager, use the Stations tab to end the user’s session. You can also end all user sessions on the Stations tab. For more information, see the End a User Session topic.

The user’s session ends and the station becomes available for log on by any user. The user’s session no longer displays on the Stations tab, and it is not in computer memory.

See Also

Did you find this helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.