本文件已封存並已停止維護。

P2V:將實體電腦轉換成 VMM 中的虛擬機器

更新日期: 2013年6月

適用於: Virtual Machine Manager 2008, Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2, Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2 SP1

Microsoft System Center Virtual Machine Manager (VMM) 可讓您透過實體對虛擬 (P2V) 轉換這道程序,將現有實體電腦轉換成虛擬機器。VMM 提供工作型精靈來自動化轉換程序的許多步驟,大幅簡化了 P2V。由於 P2V 程序可以完全用指令碼編寫,您可以透過 Windows PowerShell 命令列,進行大規模的 P2V 轉換。

note附註
VMM 會盡最大努力執行 P2V 轉換。我們無法保證實體硬體的所有可能組合都能轉換成虛擬機器。

可能的 P2V 與 V2V 路徑圖。

我可以轉換哪些實體電腦?

實體來源電腦的需求取決於您執行的是線上或離線 P2V。

線上和離線轉換的比較

下表列出線上和離線 P2V 轉換的一些差異。

 

類別 線上 P2V 離線 P2V

來源電腦可用性

來源電腦在轉換期間仍繼續執行正常作業。

來源電腦在轉換期間會離線。

程序

VMM 會建立本機 NTFS 磁碟區以及 VSS 感知應用程式資料的複本。VMM 會利用磁碟區陰影複製服務 (VSS),以確保資料能夠一致備份,同時伺服器仍繼續為使用者要求提供服務。VMM 會使用這個唯讀快照建立 VHD。

來源電腦會重新開機進入 Windows 預先安裝環境 (Windows PE),接著 VMM 會將磁碟區再製到 VHD。最後,VMM 會重新啟動來源電腦,進入原來的作業系統。

相容性

大多數實體電腦的作業系統預設會進行線上 P2V。

離線 P2V 是 Windows 2000 Server 轉換的唯一選擇,只有這種方法才能可靠地移轉 FAT 磁碟區,而且也是轉換網域控制站的建議方法。

優點

來源電腦在轉換期間均維持可用狀態。

離線 P2V 可能是確保資料一致性最可靠的方式,而且在某些情況下也是唯一的選擇 (如上述)。

note附註
不論是線上或離線 P2V,VMM 都會在要進行轉換的實體來源電腦上暫時安裝代理程式。

來源機器的需求

若要執行 P2V 轉換,您的來源電腦必須符合下列條件:

  • 至少必須具有 512 MB 的 RAM。

  • 不能有任何大於 2040 GB 的磁碟區。

  • 必須具有進階組態與電源介面 (ACPI) BIOS – Vista WinPE 不會安裝在非 ACPI BIOS。

  • 必須能夠為 VMM 和主機電腦所存取。

  • 不能在周邊網路中。周邊網路 (也稱為遮蔽網路) 是一組放置於內部網路和網際網路之間的裝置和子網路,可協助保護內部網路,避免未經授權的網際網路使用者侵入。P2V 轉換的來源電腦可以位於其他任何網路拓撲中,在這個網路拓撲中,VMM 伺服器可連線至來源電腦,以暫時安裝代理程式,也可以對來源電腦發出 Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) 呼叫。

Important重要事項
將 VMware 虛擬機器轉換成 Hyper-V 或 Virtual Server 虛擬機器之前,必須在虛擬機器的來賓作業系統上解除安裝 VMware Tools。

下表列出可在 VMM 2008 和 VMM 2008 R2 中支援 P2V 轉換的 Windows 作業系統。

note附註
Windows 2000 Server 和 Windows XP SP2 的支援已於 2010 年 7 月 13 日結束。過了這個日期之後,我們將不再更新這些作業系統的整合服務,也不再針對由於在虛擬機器中使用這些作業系統所產生的任何問題提供支援。如需支援結束的詳細資訊,請參閱 Support for Windows 2000 and Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) Ends on July 13, 2010 (Windows 2000 和 Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) 的支援於 2010 年 7 月 13 日結束) (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=196755)。

在 VMM 2008 和 VMM 2008 R2 中 P2V 轉換支援的作業系統

作業系統 VMM 2008 VMM 2008 R2

Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (SP3)

Windows XP 64 位元版本 SP3

Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition (32 位元 x86)

是 (需要 SP1 或更新版本)。

是 (需要 SP2 或更新版本)。

Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition (32 位元 x86)

是 (需要 SP1 或更新版本)。

是 (需要 SP2 或更新版本)。

Windows Server 2003 Datacenter Edition (32 位元 x86)

是 (需要 SP1 或更新版本)。

是 (需要 SP2 或更新版本)。

Windows Server 2003 x64 Standard Edition

是 (需要 SP1 或更新版本)。

是 (需要 SP2 或更新版本)。

Windows Server 2003 Enterprise x64 Edition

是 (需要 SP1 或更新版本)。

是 (需要 SP2 或更新版本)。

Windows Server 2003 Datacenter x64 Edition

是 (需要 SP1 或更新版本)。

是 (需要 SP2 或更新版本)。

Windows Server 2003 Web Edition

Windows Small Business Server 2003

Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1)

64 位元版本的 Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1)

Windows Server 2008 Standard 32 位元

Windows Server 2008 Enterprise 32 位元

Windows Server 2008 Datacenter 32 位元

64 位元版本的 Windows Server 2008 Standard

64 位元版本的 Windows Server 2008 Enterprise

64 位元版本的 Windows Server 2008 Datacenter

Windows Web Server 2008

Windows 7

64 位元版本的 Windows 7

64 位元版本的 Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard

64 位元版本的 Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise

64 位元版本的 Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter

Windows Web Server 2008 R2

下列限制適用於 P2V 作業系統支援:

  • 針對搭配 Itanium 架構作業系統的電腦,VMM 不支援 P2V 轉換。

  • 當來源電腦執行的是 Windows NT Server 4.0 時,VMM 不支援 P2V。不過,您可以使用 Microsoft Virtual Server 2005 Migration Toolkit (VSMT) 或協力廠商解決方案來轉換執行 Windows NT Server 4.0 的電腦。

  • VMM 2008 R2 不支援將執行 Windows Server 2003 SP1 的實體電腦,轉換成受 Hyper-V 管理的虛擬機器。Hyper-V 不支援執行 Windows Server 2003 SP1 之電腦上的整合元件。因此,當您使用遠端桌面通訊協定 (RDP) 連線至虛擬機器時,將不會有滑鼠控制。若要避免這個問題,請在轉換實體電腦之前,將作業系統更新為 Windows Server 2003 SP2。或者,您可以使用 VMM 2008 來轉換電腦,然後在 VMM 2008 R2 中部署虛擬機器。

目的主機伺服器的需求

在 VMM 中,主機是指可以部㱲㜀䘀㸀一部或多部虛擬機器的實體電腦。若要執行 P2V,您需要主機來放置來源電腦的映像。

主機伺服器的需求包括:

  • P2V 轉換期間的目的主機可以執行 Windows Server 2008 搭配 Hyper-V、Windows Server 2008 R2 搭配 Hyper-V 或 Virtual Server R2 SP1 (或更新版本)。

  • 目的主機不能位於周邊網路。

  • 在任何虛擬機器建立或移轉作業中,除了保留給主機作業系統的記憶體之外,P2V 轉換的目的主機還必須擁有足夠的記憶體可供虛擬機器使用。根據預設,系統為主機作業系統所保留的記憶體為 256 MB (VMM 2008) 或 512 MB (VMM 2008 R2)。如果除了保留給主機的記憶體之外,主機沒有足夠的記憶體可供虛擬機器使用,您就會在轉換實體伺服器精靈中收到放置錯誤。

決定要轉換哪些電腦

為成功執行 P2V,您必須能夠識別適合整合到虛擬化環境的實體工作負載。本節可幫助您識別哪些電腦是適於轉換的候選項目。

識別虛擬化候選項目

如果您已部署 Microsoft System Center Operations Manager 2007,VMM 可透過直接分析目標機器的效能計數器或儲存在 Operations Manager 資料庫的歷史效能資料,幫助您識別適於整合的實體伺服器。

「虛擬化候選項目」報告會顯示一組常被要求之效能計數器 (CPU、記憶體、磁碟使用量、硬體組態) 的平均值,包括處理器速度、處理器數目以及 RAM 總數量等等,有助您識別無法充分利用的電腦。若要使用「虛擬化候選項目」報告,您必須部署 System Center VMM 2008 管理組件。如需報告的詳細資訊,請參閱設定 VMM 的報告

為虛擬化候選項目排列優先順序

在識別 P2V 轉換的最佳候選項目時,請以喜好設定做為轉換此類電腦的考量:

  1. 非商業關鍵性且無法充分使用的電腦。從最低使用率且非商業關鍵性的電腦開始,您將能夠在相當低的風險下瞭解 P2V 程序。網頁伺服器可做為合適的候選項目。

  2. 具有過時或不支援的硬體而需要汰換的電腦。

  3. 低使用率並架設低關鍵性內部應用程式的電腦。

  4. 較高使用率並架設低關鍵性應用程式的電腦。

  5. 其餘無法充分利用的電腦。

  6. 一般來說,商業關鍵性應用程式 (例如經常使用的電子郵件伺服器和資料庫) 只應虛擬化至 Windows Server 2008 (64 位元) 作業系統的 Hyper-V 平台。

如何執行 P2V 轉換

在 P2V 轉換期間,來源電腦硬碟的磁碟映像會封裝至虛擬硬碟 (.vhd 檔案),然後進行準備作業,以確保作業系統能在目的主機的虛擬化環境中運作。

開始之前

下列清單包括在開始 P2V 轉換之前應執行的工作:

  • P2V 轉換的第一個階段是調查來源電腦的硬體組態,並確定修補快取包含所有必要的驅動程式和系統檔案,以支援目標虛擬化軟體模擬的磁碟機。如果遺失任何驅動程式,您會收到特定的錯誤訊息,指出哪裡可以取得必要的驅動程式。

    note附註
    您可以使用 Add-Patch 指令程式,將可用的修補檔手動下載至 VMM。

  • P2V 轉換期間無法傳輸磁碟的損壞磁區。為避免資料遺失,請在來源電腦執行磁碟維護工具 (例如 Chkdsk),以偵測和修正任何檔案系統錯誤。

  • 為縮短建立映像所需的時間,請為來源電腦的硬碟執行磁碟重組。此外,請確定來源電腦和主機之間有快速的網路連線。

  • 使用動態虛擬硬碟 (VHD) 節省目的主機的磁碟空間。例如,如果您要轉換 40 GB 硬碟的 5 GB 資料,VMM 會建立動態擴充的 40 GB VHD,其約佔 5 GB 磁碟空間並可擴充至 40 GB。實際大小會視原始磁碟區的分散程度而定,再加上 VHD 格式所需的一些額外空間。

    note附註
    您不可能縮小磁碟大小。

  • 僅適用線上 P2V:確定來源電腦執行的所有關鍵性應用程式都具有 VSS 感知寫入器,或全都停止執行。

  • 僅適用離線 P2V:準備好提供與 Windows Vista 相容的 NIC 和大型存放裝置的驅動程式。VMM 將評估來源實體電腦,並將它與 Windows PE 2.0 所包含的驅動程式比較,同時提供將驅動程式新增到來源電腦的指示。

轉換實體伺服器精靈

  • 您可以使用轉換實體伺服器精靈,從實體來源電腦建立新的虛擬機器。如需詳細資訊,請參閱P2V:如何執行轉換

    note附註
    在轉換實體伺服器精靈或命令列中,您可以提供 IPv4 或 IPv6 位址來替代機器名稱。

  • P2V 完成後,從虛擬機器移除任何不必要的特定廠商硬體公用程式和驅動程式。

note附註
轉換實體伺服器精靈會呼叫 New-P2V 指令程式。部分轉換選項僅適用於命令列。

從命令列執行 P2V

您可以使用 New-P2V 指令程式,從 Windows PowerShell 執行 P2V 轉換。若要取得基礎指令碼以進行自訂,請從 VMM 系統管理員主控台執行轉換虛擬機器精靈,然後按一下 [檢視指令碼] 按鈕。

如需使用 New-P2V 指令程式的詳細資訊,請在 Windows PowerShell – Virtual Machine Manager 命令殼層輸入 Get-Help New-P2V

P2V 程序

P2V 轉換程序會擷取來源磁碟的映像,然後修改作業系統和驅動程式,讓它們與 Hyper-V 或 Virtual Server 模擬的硬體相容。線上和離線 P2V 轉換使用的程序完全不同:

線上轉換

線上轉換不需要重新啟動來源電腦。VMM 會使用磁碟區陰影複製服務 (VSS) 建立應用程式層級一致的來源機器映像,然後再建立類似的虛擬機器。線上轉換程序包含五個步驟:

  1. 將代理程式安裝到來源電腦

  2. 擷取硬體組態

  3. 建立映像

  4. 進行修復

  5. 建立虛擬機器



P2V 線上轉換程序的圖形。
  1. Virtual Machine Manager 會將 P2V 代理程式安裝到來源電腦,以收集硬體和軟體組態。等到轉換完成後,就會移除代理程式。

    Important重要事項
    VMM 代理程式 Windows Installer 會為遠端系統管理 (RemoteAdmin 服務) 和安全通訊端層 (SSL) 通訊埠建立防火牆例外。在 P2V 程序完成後移除 VMM 代理程式時,會一併移除這些例外。HTTPS 通訊埠預設為 TCP 443。

  2. VMM 會收集來源電腦的硬體和軟體組態,如下所示:

    1. VMM 代理程式會收集關於硬體、軟體、服務、Hotfix 以及磁碟配置 (檔案系統、磁碟區類型) 的資訊。VMM 代理程式會將這些資訊以 XML 格式的機器組態檔匯出至 VMM 資料庫。

    2. VMM 會判斷來源機器是否可以虛擬化。VMM 會確認作業系統是否為支援的作業系統,而且實體組態可設成與目的虛擬化軟體相容。VMM 會檢查修補快取是否有必要的檔案,並將任何遺失的修補檔下載至 VMM 伺服器的 Patch Import 目錄。

  3. 建立映像階段:

    1. 系統會針對每個選取的磁碟區,建立應用程式層級一致的磁碟區陰影複製服務 (VSS) 映像。如果選取動態目的 VHD 格式,則此程序只會擷取資料,不會擷取空白的空間。

    2. 系統會使用背景智慧型傳送服務 (BITS),將資料從來源電腦直接串流處理至 VMM 主機。

    3. 每個實體磁碟區都會變成個別虛擬硬碟。

  4. 修復階段。VMM 會備妥作業系統和虛擬硬碟,以便建立虛擬機器。

  5. 建立虛擬機器階段:

    1. VMM 會建立虛擬電腦。

    2. VMM 會連接虛擬硬碟、網路介面卡、CD-ROM 和記憶體。

離線轉換

離線 P2V 是確保資料一致性最可靠的方式,因為它會在來源電腦不使用時,建立完全一樣的複本。此外,離線 P2V 也是轉換 Windows 2000 Server、網域控制站以及非 NTFS 磁碟區的唯一選擇。與線上轉換不同的是,如果 Windows PE 不支援來源電腦,使用者必須提供任何遺失的驅動程式。離線轉換包含四個步驟:

  1. 安裝代理程式。Virtual Machine Manager 會將 VMM 代理程式安裝到來源電腦。

  2. VMM 代理程式將 Windows PE 映像安裝到來源電腦、修改開機記錄,然後重新開機進入 Windows PE,而非基礎作業系統。

  3. VMM 開始串流處理實體磁碟。此程序沒有快照。

  4. 此程序的其餘步驟與線上 P2V 的「修復階段」和「建立虛擬機器階段」類似。

疑難排解離線 P2V 轉換

若要在離線 P2V 轉換期間啟用來源電腦的追蹤,請建立名為 scvmm_enable_winpe_tracing.txt 的檔案,然後將檔案儲存到來源電腦開機磁碟區的根目錄。這個檔案不需要包含任何資料或資訊。來源系統會建立和儲存名為 scvmm_winpe.etl 的追蹤檔。如需 P2V 轉換的其他疑難排解資訊,請參閱 Microsoft TechNet Wiki 上的 VMM: Troubleshooting P2V Conversion Issues (VMM:疑難排解 P2V 轉換問題) (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=207409)。

 
顯示:

Export (0) Print
Expand All

P2V: Converting Physical Computers to Virtual Machines in VMM

Updated: June 21, 2013

Applies To: Virtual Machine Manager 2008, Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2, Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2 SP1

Did you know that System Center 2012 is available? System Center 2012 offers you a single, flexible platform to manage traditional datacenters, private and public clouds, and client computers and devices. Learn more about System Center 2012.

Microsoft System Center Virtual Machine Manager (VMM) allows you to convert existing physical computers into virtual machines through a process known as physical-to-virtual (P2V) conversion. VMM simplifies P2V by providing a task-based wizard to automate much of the conversion process. Since the P2V process is completely scriptable, you can initiate large-scale P2V conversions through the Windows PowerShell command line.

noteNote
VMM performs P2V conversions on a best-effort basis. We cannot guarantee that all possible combinations of physical hardware can be converted to a virtual machine.

Diagram of the possible P2V and V2V paths.

Which Physical Computers Can I Convert?

The requirements for physical source computers depend on whether you are performing an online or offline P2V.

Online vs. Offline Conversions

The following table lists some of the differences between the online and offline P2V conversions.

 

Category Online P2V Offline P2V

Source computer availability

The source computer continues to perform normal operations during the conversion.

The source computer is taken offline during the conversion.

Process

VMM creates a copy of local NTFS volumes and data of VSS-aware applications. VMM leverages the Volume Shadow Copy Service (VSS) to ensure that data is backed up consistently while the server continues to service user requests. VMM uses this read-only snapshot to create a VHD.

The source computer restarts into the Windows Preinstallation Environment (Windows PE), and then VMM clones the volume to a VHD. Finally, VMM restarts the source computer into the original operating system.

Compatibility

Online P2V is the default for the operating systems on most physical computers.

Offline P2V is the only option for Windows 2000 Server conversion, the only method to reliably migrate FAT volumes, and the recommended method for converting domain controllers and servers that run ADAM or AD LDS.

Advantages

Source computer is available throughout the conversion.

Offline P2V can be the most reliable way to ensure data consistency and is the only option in certain situations (see above).

noteNote
With both online and offline P2V, VMM temporarily installs an agent on the physical source computer to be converted.

Requirements on the Source Machine

To perform a P2V conversion, your source computer:

  • Must have at least 512 MB of RAM.

  • Cannot have any volumes larger than 2040 GB.

  • Must have an Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) BIOS – Vista WinPE will not install on a non-ACPI BIOS.

  • Must be accessible by VMM and by the host computer.

  • Cannot be in a perimeter network. A perimeter network, which is also known as a screened subnet, is a collection of devices and subnets placed between an intranet and the Internet to help protect the intranet from unauthorized Internet users. The source computer for a P2V conversion can be in any other network topology in which the VMM server can connect to the source machine to temporarily install an agent and can make Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) calls to the source computer.

ImportantImportant
Before you convert a VMware virtual machine to a Hyper-V or Virtual Server virtual machine, you must uninstall VMware Tools on the guest operating system of the virtual machine.

The following table lists the Windows operating systems for which P2V conversions are supported in VMM 2008 and in VMM 2008 R2.

noteNote
Support for Windows 2000 Server and Windows XP SP2 ended on July 13, 2010. After this date, integration services for these operating systems will not be updated and support will not be available for any issues arising from using these operating systems in virtual machines. For more information about the end of support, see Support for Windows 2000 and Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) Ends on July 13, 2010 (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=196755).

Supported Operating Systems for P2V Conversions in VMM 2008 and VMM 2008 R2

Operating System VMM 2008 VMM 2008 R2

Windows XP Professional with Service Pack 3 (SP3)

Yes

Yes

Windows XP 64-Bit Edition SP3

Yes

Yes

Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition (32-bit x86)

Yes (Requires SP1 or later.)

Yes (Requires SP2 or later.)

Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)

Yes (Requires SP1 or later.)

Yes (Requires SP2 or later.)

Windows Server 2003 Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)

Yes (Requires SP1 or later.)

Yes (Requires SP2 or later.)

Windows Server 2003 x64 Standard Edition

Yes (Requires SP1 or later.)

Yes (Requires SP2 or later.)

Windows Server 2003 Enterprise x64 Edition

Yes (Requires SP1 or later.)

Yes (Requires SP2 or later.)

Windows Server 2003 Datacenter x64 Edition

Yes (Requires SP1 or later.)

Yes (Requires SP2 or later.)

Windows Server 2003 Web Edition

Yes

Yes

Windows Small Business Server 2003

Yes

Yes

Windows Vista with Service Pack 1 (SP1)

Yes

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows Vista with Service Pack 1 (SP1)

Yes

Yes

Windows Server 2008 Standard 32-Bit

Yes

Yes

Windows Server 2008 Enterprise 32-Bit

Yes

Yes

Windows Server 2008 Datacenter 32-Bit

Yes

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows Server 2008 Standard

Yes

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows Server 2008 Enterprise

Yes

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows Server 2008 Datacenter

Yes

Yes

Windows Web Server 2008

Yes

Yes

Windows 7

No

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows 7

No

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard

No

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise

No

Yes

64-bit edition of Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter

No

Yes

Windows Web Server 2008 R2

No

Yes

The following restrictions apply to P2V operation system support:

  • VMM does not support P2V conversion for computers with Itanium architecture–based operating systems.

  • VMM does not support P2V on source computers running Windows NT Server 4.0. However, you can use the Microsoft Virtual Server 2005 Migration Toolkit (VSMT) or third-party solutions for converting computers running Windows NT Server 4.0.

  • VMM 2008 R2 does not support converting a physical computer running Windows Server 2003 SP1 to a virtual machine that is managed by Hyper-V. Hyper-V does not support Integration Components on computers running Windows Server 2003 SP1. As a result, there is no mouse control when you use Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) to connect to the virtual machine. To avoid this issue, update the operating system to Windows Server 2003 SP2 before you convert the physical computer. As an alternative, you can convert the computer by using VMM 2008 and then deploy the virtual machine in VMM 2008 R2.

Requirements for the Destination Host Server

In VMM, a host is a physical computer on which you can deploy one or more virtual machines. To run P2V, you need a host on which to place the image of the source computer.

Requirements for the host server include:

  • The destination host during a P2V conversion can be running Windows Server 2008 with Hyper-V, Windows Server 2008 R2 with Hyper-V, or Virtual Server R2 SP1 (or later).

  • The destination host cannot be in a perimeter network.

  • As in any virtual machine creation or migration, the destination host for a P2V conversion must have sufficient memory for the virtual machine in addition to memory reserved for the host operating system. By default, the amount of memory reserved for the host operating system is 256 MB in VMM 2008 or 512 MB in VMM 2008 R2. If the host does not have enough memory for the virtual machine in addition to the memory reserved for the host, you will get a placement error in the Convert Physical Server Wizard.

Deciding Which Computers to Convert

To successfully perform P2V, you must be able to identify appropriate physical workloads for consolidation into the virtualized environment. This section will help you identify which computers are good candidates for conversion.

Identifying Virtualization Candidates

If you have deployed Microsoft System Center Operations Manager 2007, VMM can help you identify the right physical servers for consolidation based on direct analysis of the performance counters of the target machine or historical performance data stored in the Operations Manager database.

The Virtualization Candidates report helps you identify underutilized computers by displaying average values for a set of commonly requested performance counters for CPU, memory, disk usage, hardware configurations, including processor speed, number of processors, and total RAM. To use the Virtualization Candidates report, you must deploy the System Center VMM 2008 Management Pack. For more information about reporting, see Configuring Reporting for VMM.

Prioritizing Virtualization Candidates

When identifying the best candidates for P2V conversion, consider converting these types of computers, in order of preference:

  1. Non business-critical underutilized computers. By starting with the least utilized computers that are not business critical, you can learn the P2V process with relatively low risk. Web servers may make good candidates.

  2. Computers with outdated or unsupported hardware that needs to be replaced.

  3. Computers with low utilization that are hosting less critical in-house applications.

  4. Computers with higher utilization that are hosting less critical applications.

  5. The remaining underutilized computers.

  6. In general, business-critical applications, such as e-mail servers and databases that are highly utilized, should only be virtualized to the Hyper-V platform in the Windows Server 2008 (64-bit) operating system.

How to Perform a P2V Conversion

During a P2V conversion, disk images of the hard disks on the source computer are packaged into virtual hard disks (.vhd files), and then prepared to ensure that the operating system will operate in the virtualized environment on the destination host.

Before You Begin

The following list includes tasks that you should perform before starting the P2V conversion:

  • Before you begin performing P2V conversions, we recommend that you run the System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008 and 2008 R2 Configuration Analyzer (VMMCA) on the VMM server, the destination hosts, and the source machines.

    The VMMCA is a diagnostic tool you can use to evaluate important configuration settings for computers that either are serving or might serve VMM roles or other VMM functions. The VMMCA scans the hardware and software configurations of the computers you specify, evaluates them against a set of predefined rules, and then provides you with error messages and warnings for any configurations that are not optimal for the VMM role or other VMM function that you have specified for the computer.

    You can download the VMMCA from the System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008 and 2008 R2 Configuration Analyzer download page (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=100597). For a list of VMM updates that the VMMCA checks that the VNNCA checks for, see List of Virtual Machine Manager (VMM) Updates (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=214715) on the Technet Wiki.

  • The first phase of a P2V conversion is to survey the hardware configuration of the source computer and make sure the patch cache contains all necessary drivers and system files to support the drives emulated by the target virtualization software. If any drivers are missing, you will get specific error messages indicating where to get the necessary drivers.

    noteNote
    You can use the Add-Patch cmdlet to manually download available patches to VMM.

  • Bad sectors on disk cannot be transferred during a P2V conversion. To avoid data loss, run a disk maintenance tool, such as Chkdsk, on the source computer to detect and correct any file system errors.

  • To help minimize the time required for the imaging phase, perform a disk defragmentation on the source computer's hard drives. Also, ensure that you have a fast network connection between the source computer and the host.

  • Use dynamic Virtual Hard Disks (VHD) to conserve disk space on the destination host. For example, if you convert 5 GB of data on a 40 GB hard drive, VMM will create a dynamically expanding 40 GB VHD that occupies approximately 5 GB of disk space and can expand up to 40 GB. The actual size depends on fragmentation of the original volume plus some VHD format overhead.

    noteNote
    It is not possible to shrink the size of a disk.

  • For online P2V only: Make sure that all critical applications running on the source computer have VSS-aware writers or that they are stopped.

  • For offline P2V only: Be prepared to supply NIC and mass storage drivers that are compatible with Windows Vista. VMM will evaluate the source physical computer and compare it with the drivers included in Windows PE 2.0 and provide instructions on adding drivers on the source computer.

Convert Physical Server Wizard

  • You can use the Convert Physical Server Wizard to create a new virtual machine from a physical source computer. For more information, see P2V: How to Perform a Conversion.

    noteNote
    You can provide the IPv4 or IPv6 address instead of machine names in the Convert Physical Server Wizard or from the command line.

  • After the P2V is complete, remove any unnecessary vendor-specific hardware utilities and drivers from the virtual machine.

noteNote
The Convert Physical Server Wizard invokes the New-P2V cmdlet. Some conversion options are only available from the command line.

Performing P2V from the Command Line

You can perform a P2V conversion from Windows PowerShell by using the New-P2V cmdlet. To get a base script that you can customize, run the Convert Virtual Machine Wizard from the VMM Administrator Console and click the View Script button.

For more information about using the New-P2V cmdlet type Get-Help New-P2V in the Windows PowerShell – Virtual Machine Manager command shell.

The P2V Process

The P2V conversion process captures an image of the source disk and modifies the operating system and drivers to make them compatible with the Hyper-V or Virtual Server emulated hardware. Online and offline P2V conversions use two distinct processes:

Online Conversion

Online conversion does not require a restart of the source computer. VMM uses the Volume Shadow Copy Service (VSS) to create an image of the source machine that is consistent on the application level and then creates an analogous virtual machine. The online conversion process consists of five steps:

  1. Installing the agent on the source computer

  2. Retrieving hardware configuration

  3. Imaging

  4. Fixing up

  5. Creating the virtual machine



Diagram of the P2V online conversion process.
  1. Virtual Machine Manager installs the P2V agent on the source computer to gather the hardware and software configuration. After the conversion is complete, the agent is removed.

    ImportantImportant
    The VMM agent Windows Installer creates a firewall exception for remote administration (RemoteAdmin service) and Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) port. These exceptions are removed when the VMM agent is removed at the end of the P2V process. The HTTPS port default is TCP 443.

  2. VMM gathers the source computer's hardware and software configuration, as follows:

    1. The VMM agent gathers information about hardware, software, services, hotfixes, and the disk layout (file system, volume type). The VMM agent exports this information to the VMM database as a machine configuration file in XML format.

    2. VMM determines whether the source machine can be virtualized. VMM confirms that the operating system is supported and that the physical configuration can be made compatible with the destination virtualization software. VMM verifies that the required files are present in the patch cache and downloads any missing patches to the Patch Import directory on the VMM server.

  3. Imaging phase:

    1. A Volume Shadow Copy Service (VSS) image is captured for each selected volume that is consistent on the application level. If a dynamic destination VHD format is selected, this process captures data only, not empty space.

    2. Data is streamed directly from the source computer to the VMM host using Background Intelligent Transfer Service (BITS).

    3. Each physical volume becomes a separate virtual hard disk.

  4. Fix-Up phase. VMM prepares the operating system and the virtual hard disks for virtual machine creation.

  5. Create Virtual Machine phase:

    1. VMM creates the virtual machine.

    2. VMM attaches virtual hard disks, network adapters, CD-ROM, and memory.

Offline Conversion

Offline P2V is the most reliable way to ensure data consistency because it creates an exact copy of the source computer while it is not in use. Also, offline P2V is the only option for converting Windows 2000 Server, domain controllers, and non-NTFS volumes. Unlike online conversions, the user must provide any missing drivers if Windows PE does not support the source computer. The offline conversion consists of four steps:

  1. Agent installation. Virtual Machine Manager installs the VMM agent on the source computer.

  2. The VMM agent installs a Windows PE image on the source computer, modifies the boot record, and restarts in Windows PE instead of the base operating system.

  3. VMM begins streaming physical disks. There are no snapshots in this process.

  4. The remainder of the process is similar to the Fix-Up phase and Create Virtual Machine Phase in an online P2V.

Troubleshooting an Offline P2V Conversion

To enable tracing on the source computer during an offline P2V conversion, create a file named scvmm_enable_winpe_tracing.txt and save the file to the root of the source computer's boot volume. This file does not need to contain any data or information. A trace file named scvmm_winpe.etl will be created and saved on the source system. For additional troubleshooting information for P2V conversions, see VMM: Troubleshooting P2V Conversion Issues (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=207409) on the Microsoft TechNet Wiki.

 
Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft