編寫 Microsoft Office 指令碼簡介:Excel 與 Word

作者: Microsoft Scripting Guy

指碼街

歡迎來到「指碼街」,這是專為指令碼初學者所寫的專欄。本篇專欄的目標是要教導您如何編寫系統管理自動化的最基本 Windows 指令碼。我們將提供您所需的資訊,幫助您開始閱讀和瞭 解指令碼並配合個人的需求著手修改這些指令碼。如果您特別對編寫指令碼有任何不清楚的地方,請告訴我們;也許有人和您一樣不清楚。

查看指碼街封存來參閱過去的文章。

下載所有的「指碼街」專欄 (英文) 中易於閱讀、且可全面搜尋的 .chm 檔案(從第一個專欄到 2007 年 6 月份版本)。


本页内容

角落辦公室
編寫 Microsoft Excel 指令碼
編寫 Microsoft Word 指令碼
詳細資訊
空的辦公室


角落辦公室

角落辦公室通常代表身分地位與尊重。如果您想知道 Scripting Guy 在 Microsoft 的地位,那我這樣說好了:Scripting Guy Greg Stemp 最近走進他的辦公室時,發現裡面堆積著各種舊 設備,因為有人誤以為他的辦公室是個小儲藏室。

雖然您可能不像 Greg 一樣在儲藏室般的小隔間裡工作,但如果您只是一般的系統管理員,在公司可能也不會擁有豪華辦公室。這是否意味著,比起擁有豪華辦公室的執行長 (CEO),您對組織比較 不重要?嗯,沒錯。不過,那不是重點。重點是您有自己的辦公室,或至少有一個小隔間、或是有一張辦公桌、或是有辦公桌的一部分…

說到辦公室,您上次仔細研究可以使用 Microsoft Office 來完成某樣事情是什麼時候?當然,您可以外掛一些方程式到 Excel 中、在 Word 中編寫報告、用 Outlook 傳送電子郵件。但是身 為一位對編寫程式碼有點瞭解的系統管理員,如果您從未利用 Office 的指令碼編寫功能,那也難怪您會坐在小隔間,而不是坐在角落辦公室裡。

喔,等等,雖然 Greg 有使用 Microsoft Office 的指令碼編寫功能,但他還是在小隔間中工作。好吧,忘記這個理論。不過重點是,沒錯我們還是要試著強調:您真的應該好好瞭解各種 Office 產品的指令碼編寫功能。它們的功能真的很廣泛,而且真的能協助身為系統管理員的您。別忘了這點,接著我們將在本文的其餘各篇介紹編寫 Excel 與 Word 指令碼的基本概念。為什麼只介紹 Excel 與 Word? 原因很多,因為 Excel 與 Word 是系統管理員最常使用的應用程式,而且其指令碼編寫概念類似。其他例如 Access 與 Outlook 等 Office 產品也有相當健全的指令碼編寫功能,但是我們將於改天再介紹。

編寫 Microsoft Excel 指令碼

我們將從 Excel 開始介紹,因為它可能會是您最常使用的產品。您可以使用 Excel 來執行的工作,例如將詳細說明伺服器功能的報告整合在一起、追蹤使用者資訊以及從試算表中將資訊加入 Active Directory 等等,這裡只舉一些例子。但似乎有無限可能,就像 Greg 辦公室裡可以容納的箱子數目一樣。

Excel 實際上是由數個部分所組成。例如,Excel 本身就像是把所有東西都裝在一起的殼層:

Ee176994.microsoftExcel1(zh-tw,TechNet.10).jpg


在殼層中有活頁簿 (實際上是儲存為 .xls 或 xlsx 檔案),而且在活頁簿中有不同的工作表:

Ee176994.workbookseparateworksheets(zh-tw,TechNet.10).jpg


為了能使用指令碼來操作 Excel,您必須使用每一個部分。以下簡單的指令碼可開啟沒有任何活頁簿的 Excel:


Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True 

您試過了嗎?如果有,應該會發現它好像沒什麼用,對吧?如果您有仔細注意,可能會看到螢幕上有某個東西快速閃過,然後又消失。那是 Excel。在這個指令碼中,我們呼叫 CreateObject 方法來建立 Excel 的執行個體,將我們要建立的物件名稱傳遞給它。在此案例中,因為我們要建立 Excel 的執行個體,所以我們傳遞 Excel.Application 物件。 我們想要查看我們的 Excel 執行個體,所以我們將 Visible 屬性設定為 True,讓它顯示在螢幕上。此時指令碼會結束,Excel 也會結束。

到目前為止都不太有用,對吧?而且空的 Excel 執行個體也不太有用。這也就是為什麼為了讓 Excel 保持開啟,我們需要開啟活頁簿或是建立新的活頁簿。讓我們從開啟現有的活頁簿 C:\Scripts\Test.xls 開始:


Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True

objExcel.Workbooks.Open("C:\Scripts\Test.xls")

如果我們要開啟活頁簿,就必須存取 Excel 物件模型的下一個部分,即活頁簿。我們是透過 Excel 物件的 Workbooks 集合來存取。 接著呼叫活頁簿的 Open 方法,傳遞要開啟的 Excel 檔案名稱與路徑給它。

您就會看到開啟的 Excel 活頁簿:

Ee176994.Excelworkbook(zh-tw,TechNet.10).jpg


現在我們來建立新的活頁簿:


Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True

objExcel.Workbooks.Add

在此再次使用 Workbooks 集合,這次會呼叫 Add 方法。我們不需要傳遞任何參數,只要新增空的活頁簿即可。(若有需要,可以傳遞範本名稱,這樣就可以使用特定的 Excel 範本來開啟活頁簿。)不用直接新增任何工作表, 因為 Excel 會自動執行:

Ee176994.NewExcelworkbook(zh-tw,TechNet.10).jpg


現在假設我們要將一些資訊新增至活頁簿。Open 與 Add 方法最棒的功能就是會將物件參照傳回活頁簿。這可讓我們存取活頁簿,因此也可讓我們存取活頁簿中的工作表。例如,假設我們想要建立新活頁簿,並將值新增至該活頁簿第一 個工作表的第一個儲存格中。以下是我們完成這個動作的方法:


Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True

Set objWorkbook = objExcel.Workbooks.Add
Set objWorksheet = objWorkbook.Worksheets(1)

objWorksheet.Cells(1, 1) = "100"

在建立 Excel 物件並讓 Excel 在螢幕上顯示之後,就新增活頁簿。請注意,這次是將物件參照儲存在 objWorkbook 變數中的活頁簿內。接著使用該活頁簿的 Worksheets 屬性來取得活頁簿第一個工作表的參照。 我們知道所存取的是第一個工作表,因為是傳遞值 1 到 Worksheets 屬性。如果傳遞的值是 2,則是參照第二個工作表。也可能會傳遞工作表的名稱,就像這樣:


Set objWorksheet = objWorkbook.Worksheets("Sheet1")

既然有工作表的存取權,就可以使用 Cells 屬性來將值指派給特定的儲存格:


objWorksheet.Cells(1, 1) = "100"

在此已經指派值 100 給第 1 列和第 1 欄中的儲存格 (也就是所謂的 1,1)。既然我們已將新值指派給工作表,就應該立即儲存活頁簿:


objWorkbook.SaveAs("C:\Scripts\Test.xls")

在此我們所執行的動作是呼叫活頁簿的 SaveAs 方法,將要儲存活頁簿的檔名傳遞給它。將此行新增至指令碼的結尾以儲存檔案至 C:\Scripts\Test.xls (在此案例中)。

使用 Excel 時必須注意一件很重要的事情。讓我們看看如果遺漏這一行會發生什麼情況:


objExcel.Visible = True

根據預設,Visible 屬性是 False。當在您想在螢幕上不顯示任何內容的情況下執行指令碼時,這可能會很有用。不過,如果您這樣做,就務必呼叫 Quit 方法來關閉 Excel:


objExcel.Quit

如果您未這麼做,則指令碼完成時,Excel 將繼續在背景執行。如果您執行指令碼數次,則每次執行指令碼時都會執行一個 Excel 執行個體。

額外提示:如果您對 Excel 活頁簿進行變更並呼叫 Quit 方法,將會在關閉之前提示您儲存活頁簿。如果您不想要在呼叫 Quit 時顯示任何提示,請直接將 DisplayAlerts 屬性設定為 False,就像這樣:


objExcel.DisplayAlerts = False

這樣就還不錯了,對吧?既然您瞭解了 Excel 的基本概念,那麼其餘的 Office 產品就顯得簡單多了。繼續閱讀…

編寫 Microsoft Word 指令碼

就 Excel 有很多部分的角度來看,Word 與 Excel 的運作方式很像。有 Word 本身,然後在 Word 中有文件。在文件中有頁首與頁尾以及各種其他元素,但是在本文中將暫不討論它們。讓我們從開啟 Word 開始:


Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

就像使用 Excel 所執行的動作一樣,我們呼叫 CreateObject 方法,這次是建立 Word.Application 物件。接著將 Visible 屬性設定為 True,這樣就可以在螢幕上看到 Word。如果您執行這個指令碼,就會發現 Excel 應用程式與 建立 Word 應用程式之間有很明顯的差別:Excel 會在螢幕上閃過並立即關閉,但是 Word 仍然還在。執行這個指令碼,就會在螢幕上顯示開啟的 Word 執行個體。這似乎比 Excel 版本好一些,因為您至少可以確定已執行了某些動作。

現在我們來開啟現有的文件:


Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

objWord.Documents.Open("C:\Scripts\Test.doc")

開啟 Word 文件的方式是呼叫 Documents 集合的 Open 方法 (很合邏輯吧!)。我們直接將要開啟的文件路徑與檔案名稱傳遞給 Open 方法, 這樣就完成囉!您是否要建立新文件?那還不簡單:


Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

objWord.Documents.Add

呼叫 Add 方法會將空白文件新增至 Word 執行個體。如果您有需要的話,有幾個參數可以傳遞到 Add 方法:

  • Template – 您要文件使用的範本名稱。

  • NewTemplate – 如果您是使用文件來建立範本,請將此參數設定為 True。預設值是 False。

  • DocumentType – 用以指定您要建立的文件類型常數。

  • Visible – 將此參數設定為 False 以隱藏文件。請注意,這與我們之前設定的 Visible 屬性不同。我們教您的第一個 Visible 屬性可以決定 Word 是否出現在螢幕上,而且預設值是 False (也就是,不要讓 Word 顯示在螢幕上)。 Add 方法的 Visible 參數預設值是 True,這表示您建立的文件將會顯示在 Word 文件中。但是請試試看這個:

    
    objWord.Documents.Add ,,,False
    

這裡我們已將 Visible 參數設定為 False。如果您執行含有此行的指令碼,將會看到已開啟的 Word 執行個體,但即使已有開啟文件,也不會看到任何開啟的文件。

現在我們來新增一些文字到 Word 文件:


Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

Set objDoc = objWord.Documents.Add

Set objSelection = objWord.Selection

objSelection.TypeText "Here is some text in a Word document."

我們再次建立一個 Word 執行個體,並讓它顯示出來。接下來新增一份文件,這次將該文件的物件參照指派到變數 objDoc。現在我們可以開始將文字新增至文件。第一件要做的事就是建 立 Selection 物件:


Set objSelection = objWord.Selection

當您開啟 Word 並查看文件時,在開始鍵入時會知道文字將出現的位置;這是因為您可以看到螢幕上的選取游標正在閃爍。選取物件基本上就是您的閃爍游標,它提供您在文件中將輸入文字的位置參考。根據預設, 閃爍游標的位置永遠是文件的開頭。這表示我們可以使用 objSelection 物件在文件開頭開始鍵入一些文字:


objSelection.TypeText "Here is some text in a Word document."

我們呼叫 TypeText 方法來執行實際的「鍵入」,並將文件中想要的文字傳遞給它。

如果您要儲存文件,請直接將這一行附加到指令碼的結尾:


objDoc.SaveAs "C:\Scripts\Test.doc"

看吧,我們已告訴過您對 Document 物件 (objDoc) 的參照將會很有用。我們已經使用 Document 物件的 SaveAs 方法來儲存文件,以要儲存文件的檔名之參數來傳遞。

詳細資訊

指令碼中心有許多關於編寫 Office 產品指令碼的資訊。您可參閱這些特定章節:

空的辦公室

我們希望有一天可以提供有關編寫 Access 與 Outlook 指令碼的初學者指南,但是還要看情況。我們計劃先清掉 Greg 辦公室裡的垃圾,不過因為他的辦公室中全部都是垃圾,所以那裡以後會看起來像個空的辦公室。但這樣可能會把事情搞大。因為如果有人看到辦公室這麼空 ,可能會想要讓其他人搬進去,不像儲藏室至少還可以避免其他人干擾。

顯示:

Export (0) Print
Expand All
35 out of 45 rated this helpful - Rate this topic

Introduction to Scripting Microsoft Office: Excel and Word

By The Microsoft Scripting Guys

Sesame Script

Welcome to Sesame Script, the column for beginning script writers. The goal of this column is to teach the very basics of Windows scripting for system administration automation. We’ll provide you with the information you’ll need to begin reading and understanding scripts and to start modifying those scripts to suit your own needs. If there’s anything in particular about scripting you’re finding confusing, let us know; you’re probably not alone.

Check the Sesame Script Archives to see past articles.


Download all the Sesame Script columns (from the very first column through the June, 2007 edition) in one easy-to-read, fully-searchable .chm file.

On This Page

The Corner Office
Scripting Microsoft Excel
Scripting Microsoft Word
More Information
Vacant Office

The Corner Office

The corner office is typically equated with status and respect. In case you’re wondering where the Scripting Guys stand here at Microsoft, well, let’ put it this way: Scripting Guy Greg Stemp recently walked into his office and found miscellaneous pieces of old equipment piled in it because someone had mistaken his office for a small storage closet.

While you might not work in a storage closet like Greg, if you’re a typical system administrator you probably don’t have the premium office space in your building, either. Does that mean you’re less valuable to your organization than the CEO with the giant office? Well, yes. But that’s beside the point. The point is that you have an office, or at least a cubicle…or a desk…or part of a desk….

Speaking of offices, when was the last time you took a close look at the things you can do with Microsoft Office? Sure, you can plug some equations into Excel, write up reports in Word, send your email from Outlook. But as a system administrator who knows a little something about writing scripts, if you’re not taking advantage of the scripting capabilities of Office, well, it’s no wonder you’re sitting in a closet instead of the corner office.

Oh, wait: Greg uses scripts that take advantage of Microsoft Office and he’s in a storage closet. All right, forget that theory. But the point is - yes, we’re still attempting to make a point - you really should check out the scripting capabilities of the various Office products. They’re pretty extensive and, as a system administrator, they can really help you. With that in mind, we’ll spend the rest of this article showing you the basics of scripting Excel and Word. Why just Excel and Word? For a couple of reasons: Excel and Word are the most frequently used applications by system administrators, and the scripting concepts are similar. Other Office products, such as Access and Outlook, have pretty robust scripting capabilities, but we’ll save them for another day.

Scripting Microsoft Excel

We’ll start with Excel because it’s probably the product you’ll use most. You can use Excel for tasks such as putting together reports detailing server capacity, tracking user information, and adding information from a spreadsheet to Active Directory, just to name a few. The possibilities seem limitless. Just like the number of boxes that will fit in Greg’s office.

Excel is actually made up of several parts. For example, there’s Excel itself, which is sort of the shell that holds the whole thing together:

Microsoft Excel

Within that shell there are workbooks (which is what actually gets saved as an .xls or .xlsx file), and within a workbook are separate worksheets:

Microsoft Excel with Workbook

In order to work with Excel using a script, you have to work with each of these parts. Here’s a simple script that opens Excel without any workbooks:



Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True

Did you try it? If so, it didn’t seem to do much, did it? If you were paying close attention you probably saw something flash briefly on the screen then disappear again. That was Excel. In this script we created a running instance of Excel by calling the CreateObject method, passing it the name of the object we want to create. In this case, because we’re creating an instance of Excel, we pass in the Excel.Application object. We’d like to see our instance of Excel, so we set the Visible property to True to make it visible on screen. At that point the script ended, and so did Excel.

Not too useful so far, is it? But neither is an empty instance of Excel. That’s why, in order to keep Excel open, we need to either open a workbook or create a new one. Let’s start by opening an existing workbook, C:\Scripts\Test.xls:



Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True

objExcel.Workbooks.Open("C:\Scripts\Test.xls")

If we want to open a workbook, it makes sense that we need to access the next part of the Excel object model, the workbook. We do that through the Workbooks collection of the Excel object. We then call the Open method on the workbook, passing it the name and path to the Excel file we want to open.

And there you have it, an open Excel workbook:

Microsoft Excel with Open Workbook

Now let’s create a new workbook:



Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True

objExcel.Workbooks.Add

Here we again use the Workbooks collection, this time calling the Add method. We don’t need to pass any parameters; we’re simply adding an empty workbook. (If we wanted to we could pass in a template name so we could open the workbook with a specific Excel template.) We don’t need to explicitly add any worksheets because Excel does that automatically:

Microsoft Excel with New Workbook

Now suppose we want to add some information to the workbook. The great thing about the Open and Add methods is that they return object references to the workbook. This gives us access to the workbooks, which, in turn, give us access to the worksheets within the workbook. For example, let’s say we want to create a new workbook and add a value to the first cell in the first worksheet of that workbook. Here’s how we do that:



Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Visible = True

Set objWorkbook = objExcel.Workbooks.Add
Set objWorksheet = objWorkbook.Worksheets(1)

objWorksheet.Cells(1, 1) = "100"

After creating the Excel object and making Excel visible on screen, we add our new workbook. Notice that, this time, we stored the object reference to the workbook in the objWorkbook variable. We then use the Worksheets property of that workbook to get a reference to the first worksheet in the workbook. We know we’re accessing the first worksheet because we passed the value 1 to the Worksheets property. If we had passed a 2 we would have a reference to the second worksheet. We also could have passed the name of the worksheet, like this:



Set objWorksheet = objWorkbook.Worksheets("Sheet1")

Now that we have access to the worksheet we can use the Cells property to assign a value to a specific cell:



objWorksheet.Cells(1, 1) = "100"

Here we’ve assigned the value 100 to the cell in row 1, column 1 (which is what the 1,1 is for). And now that we’ve assigned a new value to the worksheet it’s time for us to save the workbook:



objWorkbook.SaveAs("C:\Scripts\Test.xls")

All we did here was call the workbook’s SaveAs method, passing it the filename we want to save it to. Add this line to the end of your script to save the file to - in this case - C:\Scripts\Test.xls.

There’s one important thing to note when you’re working with Excel. Let’s take a look at what would happen if we had left out this line:



objExcel.Visible = True

By default the Visible property is False. This can be useful: there might be times when you want to run a script without having to show anything on screen. However, if you do that you need to be sure that you call the Quit method to close Excel:



objExcel.Quit

If you don’t, your script will finish but Excel will continue to run in the background. If you run the script several times, you’ll have an instance of Excel running for each time you run the script.

Bonus: If you make changes to an Excel workbook and call the Quit method, you’ll be prompted to save the workbook before closing. If you don’t want any prompts to be displayed when you call Quit, simply set the DisplayAlerts property to False, like this:



objExcel.DisplayAlerts = False

That wasn’t too bad, was it? Now that you know the basics of Excel, the rest of the Office products are going to seem pretty simple. Read on….

Scripting Microsoft Word

Word works a lot like Excel in terms of the fact that it has multiple parts. There’s Word itself, then there’s the document within Word. Within the document there are headers and footers and various other elements, but we won’t be getting into any of that today. Let’s start by opening Word:



Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

Just as we did with Excel, we call the CreateObject method, this time creating a Word.Application object. We then set the Visible property to True so we can see Word on screen. If you run this script, you’ll notice an obvious difference between creating an Excel application and creating a Word application: Excel flashes on the screen and immediately closes, but Word sticks around. Run this script and you’ll have an open instance of Word on your screen. This seems a little nicer than the Excel version, simply because you at least know for sure that you’ve done something.

Now let’s open an existing document:



Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

objWord.Documents.Open("C:\Scripts\Test.doc")

We open a Word document by - logically enough - calling the Open method on the Documents collection. We simply pass the path and filename of the document we want to open to the Open method and we’re done. Would you rather create a new document? That’s easy enough:



Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

objWord.Documents.Add

Calling the Add method adds a blank document to your instance of Word. There are several parameters you can pass to the Add method if you want to:

  • Template - the name of the template you want the document to use.

  • NewTemplate - set this parameter to True if you’re using this document to create a template. The default is False.

  • DocumentType - a constant specifying the type of document you want to create.

  • Visible - set this parameter to False to make the document hidden. Note that this is different from the Visible property we set earlier. The first Visible property we showed you determines whether or not Word appears on screen, and the default is False. (That is, don’t make Word visible on screen.) The default for the Visible parameter of the Add method is True, meaning that the document you create will be visible inside Word. But try this:

    
    
    objWord.Documents.Add ,,,False
    
    

    Here we’ve set the Visible parameter to False. If you run the script with this line in it, you’ll see an open instance of Word but you won’t see any open documents, even though there is an open document.

Now let’s add some text to our Word document:



Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True

Set objDoc = objWord.Documents.Add

Set objSelection = objWord.Selection

objSelection.TypeText "Here is some text in a Word document."

We once again create an instance of Word and make it visible. Next we add a document, this time assigning the object reference for that document to the variable objDoc. Now we can start adding text to our document. The first thing we do is create a Selection object:



Set objSelection = objWord.Selection

When you open Word and you look at a document, you know where the text will appear when you begin typing; that’s because you can see the selection cursor blinking on the screen. The Selection object is basically your blinking cursor - it gives you a reference to the position in the document where the text will be entered. By default this is always the beginning of the document. What that means is that we can use the objSelection object to start typing some text at the beginning of our document:



objSelection.TypeText "Here is some text in a Word document."

We do the actual “typing” by calling the TypeText method and passing it the text we want in the document.

If you want to save the document, simply tack this line onto the end of your script:



objDoc.SaveAs "C:\Scripts\Test.doc"

See, we told you the reference to the Document object (objDoc) would come in handy. We’ve used the SaveAs method of the Document object to save the document, passing as a parameter the filename we want to save the document to.

More Information

There is a lot of information on the Script Center about scripting Office products. In particular, take a look at these sections:

Vacant Office

We’re hoping someday to give you the beginner’s guides to scripting Access and Outlook, but we’ll see. We had planned on cleaning the junk out of Greg’s office first, but because all there is in his office is junk that would make it look like a vacant office. And that could be a real problem: if anyone sees an office that looks vacant they might try to move someone else in. At least being in a storage closet seems to keep everyone away.


Did you find this helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.