本文件已封存並已停止維護。

Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2 SP1 的新功能

更新日期: 2011年3月

適用於: Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2 SP1

System Center Virtual Machine Manager (VMM) 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) 包含 VMM 2008 R2 先前發行之所有 Hotfix 的彙總套件。此外,此 Service Pack 還增加對 Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) 中全新的動態記憶體和 Microsoft RemoteFX 功能的支援。

除了 VMM 2008 R2 SP1 文件以外,建議您最好也能參閱下列 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 主題,因為這些主題提供了在 Hyper-V 主機上使用動態記憶體或 RemoteFX 之前應該瞭解的重要資訊:

Important重要事項
您必須使用 VMM 2008 R2 SP1 來管理執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 的 Hyper-V 主機。您也可以使用 VMM 2008 R2 SP1 來管理不是執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 的 Hyper-V 主機。如需詳細資訊,請參閱VMM 元件的支援作業系統

動態記憶體支援

在 VMM 2008 R2 中,虛擬機器和硬體設定檔都是採用固定方式來配置記憶體。系統會設定並將特定的記憶體容量配置給個別虛擬機器,不會因為實體的記憶體使用量多寡而異。此外,Hyper-V 主機只能支援某種虛擬機器的組合,這些虛擬機器設定的記憶體都少於或等於主機上的實體記憶體減去設定的保留。

如同實體伺服器,虛擬機器的資源耗用量會隨時間而異。虛擬機器通常不會一直使用已配置的所有硬體資源。此外,虛擬機器的要求者所要求的硬體資源也通常都會超過其工作負載所需。因此,Hyper-V 主機一般都未充分運用,而且通常可以支援裝載數目增加的虛擬機器。

透過動態記憶體,您可以更有效地利用實體記憶體資源。動態記憶體是 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 的新功能,能夠讓 Hyper-V 主機自動平衡執行中虛擬機器的記憶體。這項功能會針對虛擬機器的需求,調整虛擬機器的可用記憶體容量。調整的依據則是您所指定的範圍和優先順序。透過 VMM 2008 R2 SP1,您可以為虛擬機器、虛擬機器範本和虛擬機器硬體設定檔設定動態記憶體設定。您可以指定啟動記憶體、記憶體上限、記憶體緩衝區百分比和記憶體優先順序。

作業系統和主機硬體需求

只有執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 的 Hyper-V 主機能夠支援動態記憶體。此外,虛擬機器上的來賓作業系統也必須支援動態記憶體。下表提供這些需求的摘要說明。

 

主機作業系統

執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 的 Hyper-V 主機

相容的來賓作業系統

如需相容的來賓作業系統清單,請參閱 Hyper-V Dynamic Memory Evaluation Guide (Hyper-V 動態記憶體評估指南) (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=196615) 的<Requirement>(需求) 一節。

其他軟體需求

Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 隨附的整合服務版本必須安裝在虛擬機器中。這個整合服務版本會在將已停止的虛擬機器移轉到執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 的 Hyper-V 主機時,自動進行安裝。您也可以透過 VMM 的虛擬來賓服務來安裝整合服務。

note附註
如果虛擬機器正在執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 或 Windows 7 SP1,就不需要升級整合服務。

設定動態記憶體設定

如需如何在 VMM 中設定動態記憶體設定的詳細資訊,請參閱如何設定虛擬機器的記憶體。如需 Hyper-V 中動態記憶體的詳細資訊,包括來賓作業系統的建議記憶體設定、如何使用效能計數器監視記憶體配置以及疑難排解資訊,請參閱 Hyper-V Dynamic Memory Evaluation Guide (Hyper-V 動態記憶體評估指南) (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=196615)。

動態記憶體如何影響放置

請注意,如果虛擬機器 (包括其任何檢查點) 設定成使用動態記憶體,若目的主機不支援動態記憶體,則建立或移轉過程中將會封鎖放置功能。如需其他動態記憶體相關放置考量事項,請參閱Virtual Machine Manager 如何分級主機 的<造成零顆星分級的狀況>一節。請特別參考表格中的「記憶體」一列。

Microsoft RemoteFX 支援

Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 透過 Microsoft RemoteFX 功能,增加了將伺服器的視訊卡虛擬化並供虛擬機器使用的支援。RemoteFX 透過提供 3D 功能給執行支援之來賓作業系統的虛擬機器,創造豐富的虛擬桌面基礎結構 (VDI) 使用者體驗。透過 VMM 2008 R2 SP1,您可以為虛擬機器、虛擬機器範本和虛擬機器硬體設定檔啟用 RemoteFX 3D 視訊卡。此外,您還可以設定下列 RemoteFX 相關設定:

  • 監視器數目上限 (最多 4 個,依最大解析度而定)

  • 最大監視器解析度 (最高 1920 x 1200,依監視器數目上限而定)

作業系統和主機硬體需求

若要透過 VMM 使用 RemoteFX 功能,必須符合特定的主機作業系統與硬體需求。下表提供這些需求的摘要說明。

 

主機作業系統

執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 且已啟用 RemoteFX 的 Hyper-V 主機

note附註
RemoteFX 是遠端桌面虛擬主機角色服務中隸屬於遠端桌面服務伺服器角色下的一項功能。

必要的主機硬體

  • 支援第二層位址轉譯 (Second Level Address Translation,SLAT) 的 CPU。這在 Intel 處理器上稱為 Extended Page Tables (EPT),在 AMD 處理器上則稱為 Nested Page Tables (NPT)。

  • 一或多個支援的圖形處理器 (GPU)。請注意下列事項:

    • GPU 必須具有足夠的專用視訊記憶體,而且這個記憶體必須與系統記憶體分開。

    • 如果 Hyper-V 伺服器中安裝的 GPU 超過一個,這些 GPU 必須完全相同。

    • 若要使用即時移轉,叢集中的所有 Hyper-V 節點全都必須安裝相同的 GPU。

如需 RemoteFX 硬體需求的詳細資訊,包括支援的 GPU 以及監視器數目上限和解析度之視訊記憶體需求,請參閱 Hardware Considerations for RemoteFX (RemoteFX 的硬體考量) (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=196610)。

Tip秘訣
GPU 資訊已新增至 [硬體] 索引標籤 (您可在檢視主機的內容時找到這個索引標籤)。這可讓您輕鬆檢視具有 RemoteFX 功能的可用 GPU,以及每個 GPU 上的視訊記憶體總容量和可用容量。若要在 VMM 系統管理員主控台中檢視有關 GPU 記憶體可用容量和總容量的資訊,請以滑鼠右鍵按一下 [所有主機] 主機群組中的欄位標頭列,然後新增 [GPU 可用的記憶體] 和 [GPU 記憶體總計] 欄位。

相容的來賓作業系統

  • Windows 7 Service Pack 1 Ultimate 和 Enterprise Edition (32 位元和 64 位元)

note附註
請注意,RemoteFX 會影響網路頻寬使用量。RemoteFX 在連線速度 10 MB/秒 (Mbps) 或更高的區域網路 (LAN) 環境中的效能最佳。

連線至啟用 RemoteFX 的虛擬機器

設定成使用 RemoteFX 3D 視訊卡的虛擬機器會出現在自助入口網站中。不過,自助使用者不能在入口網站中使用 [連線至 VM] 選項或是檢視桌面的縮圖。自助使用者必須改為使用遠端桌面連線 (RDC) 7.1 用戶端連線到啟用 RemoteFX 的虛擬機器。RDC 7.1 包含在 Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 和 Windows 7 SP1 中。

上述限制也適用於 VMM 系統管理員主控台;您不能在這個主控台中使用 [連線至虛擬機器] 選項,或是檢視已啟用 RemoteFX 之虛擬機器的縮圖。您必須使用 RDC 7.1 用戶端連線到虛擬機器。

設定 RemoteFX 設定

如需如何在 VMM 中設定 RemoteFX 設定的詳細資訊,請參閱如何設定虛擬機器的視訊卡

RemoteFX 如何影響放置

請注意,如果虛擬機器 (包括其任何一個檢查點) 設定成使用 RemoteFX 3D 視訊卡,若主機不支援 RemoteFX,則建立或移轉過程中將會封鎖放置功能。如需其他 RemoteFX 相關放置考量事項,請參閱Virtual Machine Manager 如何分級主機 的<造成零顆星分級的狀況>一節。請特別參考表格中的「視訊」一列。

更新版管理組件

VMM 2008 R2 SP1 有更新版管理組件可用。請注意,您不能在 VMM 2008 R2 SP1 伺服器上使用舊版的管理組件。這些管理組件包括一項變更,可以讓效能與資源最佳化 (PRO) 使用目前的記憶體耗用量來取代靜態的記憶體值。更新版管理組件包含在 VMM 2008 R2 SP1 的下載內容裡,位於 i386\VirtualizationMP folder or the amd64\VirtualizationMP 資料夾。如需 Operations Manager 整合的詳細資訊,請參閱如何整合 Operations Manager 與 VMM 2008 R2 (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=162959)。

另請參閱

 
顯示:

Export (0) Print
Expand All
This topic has not yet been rated - Rate this topic

What's New in Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2 SP1

Updated: March 16, 2011

Applies To: Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2 SP1

System Center Virtual Machine Manager (VMM) 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) contains a rollup of all previously released hotfixes for VMM 2008 R2. Additionally, the service pack adds support for the new Dynamic Memory and Microsoft RemoteFX features in Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1).

In addition to the VMM 2008 R2 SP1 documentation, we strongly recommend that you review the following Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 topics, as they provide important information that you should know before using Dynamic Memory or RemoteFX on Hyper-V hosts:

ImportantImportant
You must use VMM 2008 R2 with SP1 to manage Hyper-V hosts that are running Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1. You can also use VMM 2008 R2 with SP1 to manage Hyper-V hosts that are not running Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1. For more information, see Supported Operating Systems for VMM Components.

Support for Dynamic Memory

In VMM 2008 R2, memory is allocated in a fixed manner for both virtual machines and hardware profiles. A specific amount of memory is configured for and allocated to an individual virtual machine and does not vary, regardless of actual memory usage. In addition, Hyper-V hosts can only support a combination of virtual machines whose configured memory is less than or equal to the physical memory on the host, minus a configured reserve.

Like a physical server, the resource consumption of a virtual machine varies over time. A virtual machine rarely uses all of its allocated hardware resources all of the time. In addition, requestors of virtual machines typically ask for more hardware resources than their workload requires. As such, Hyper-V hosts are generally underused and could often support hosting an increased number of virtual machines.

With Dynamic Memory, you can more effectively take advantage of physical memory resources. Dynamic Memory is a new feature in Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 that enables a Hyper-V host to balance memory automatically between running virtual machines. This feature adjusts the amount of memory available to the virtual machines in response to the needs of the virtual machine. These adjustments are made based on ranges and priorities that you specify. Through VMM 2008 R2 SP1, you can configure Dynamic Memory settings for virtual machines, virtual machine templates and virtual machine hardware profiles. You can specify the startup memory, maximum memory, memory buffer percentage and the memory priority.

Operating System and Host Hardware Requirements

Dynamic Memory is only supported on a Hyper-V host that is running Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1. Additionally, the guest operating system on a virtual machine must support Dynamic Memory. The requirements are summarized in the following table.

 

Host operating system

Hyper-V host running Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1

Compatible guest operating systems

For a list of compatible guest operating systems, see the “Requirements” section of the Hyper-V Dynamic Memory Evaluation Guide (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=196615).

Additional software requirements

The version of integration services that is included with Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 must be installed in the virtual machine. This version of integration services is installed automatically during the migration of a stopped virtual machine to a Hyper-V host that is running Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1. You can also install integration services through virtual guest services in VMM.

noteNote
You do not have to upgrade the integration services if the virtual machine is running Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1 or Windows 7 with SP1.

Configuring Dynamic Memory Settings

For information about how to configure Dynamic Memory settings in VMM, see How to Configure Memory for a Virtual Machine. For more information about Dynamic Memory in Hyper-V, including recommended memory settings for guest operating systems, how to use performance counters to monitor memory allocation, and troubleshooting information, see the Hyper-V Dynamic Memory Evaluation Guide (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=196615).

How Dynamic Memory Affects Placement

Be aware that if the virtual machine (including any one of its checkpoints) is configured to use Dynamic Memory, placement is blocked during creation or migration if the destination host does not support Dynamic Memory. For additional Dynamic Memory-related placement considerations, see the “Conditions That Cause a Zero Rating” section of How Virtual Machine Manager Rates Hosts. Specifically, refer to the “Memory” row of the table.

Support for Microsoft RemoteFX

In Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1, support was added through the Microsoft RemoteFX feature for virtualizing the server’s video adapter and making it available to virtual machines. RemoteFX delivers a rich user experience for Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) by providing 3D capabilities to virtual machines that are running a supported guest operating system. Through VMM 2008 R2 SP1, you can enable the RemoteFX 3D video adapter for virtual machines, virtual machine templates and virtual machine hardware profiles. Additionally, you can configure the following RemoteFX-related settings:

  • Maximum number of monitors (up to 4 depending on the maximum resolution)

  • Maximum monitor resolution rate (up to 1920 x 1200 depending on the maximum number of monitors)

Operating System and Host Hardware Requirements

To use RemoteFX features through VMM, there are certain operating system and hardware requirements that must be met. These requirements are summarized in the following table.

 

Host operating system

Hyper-V host running Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1, with RemoteFX enabled

noteNote
RemoteFX is a feature of the Remote Desktop Virtualization Host role service, under the Remote Desktop Services server role.

Required host hardware

  • A CPU that supports Second-Level Address Translation (SLAT). On Intel processors, this is referred to as Extended Page Tables (EPT). On AMD processors, this is referred to as Nested Page Tables (NPT).

  • One or more supported graphics processing units (GPUs). Note the following:

    • The GPU must have sufficient dedicated video memory that is separate from system memory.

    • If more than one GPU is installed in the Hyper-V server, the GPUs must be identical.

    • To use live migration, all Hyper-V nodes in the cluster must have the same GPU installed.

For more information about RemoteFX hardware requirements, including supported GPUs and the video memory requirements for a maximum number of monitors and resolution, see Hardware Considerations for RemoteFX (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=196610).

TipTip
GPU information was added to the Hardware tab that is available when you view the properties of a host. This enables you to easily view the available RemoteFX-capable GPUs, and the total and available video memory on each GPU. To view information about total and available GPU memory in the VMM Administrator console, right-click the column header row in the All Hosts host group, and then add the GPU Available Memory and GPU Total Memory columns.

Compatible guest operating systems

  • Windows 7 with Service Pack 1, Ultimate and Enterprise Editions (32-bit and 64-bit)

noteNote
Be aware that RemoteFX affects network bandwidth usage. RemoteFX is optimized for a local area network (LAN) environment with connection speeds of 10 megabits per second (Mbps) or higher.

Connecting to RemoteFX-enabled Virtual Machines

Virtual machines that are configured to use the RemoteFX 3D video adapter will appear in the Self-Service Portal. However, self-service users cannot use the Connect to VM option or view a thumbnail of the desktop in the portal. Instead, self-service users must connect to a RemoteFX-enabled virtual machine by using the Remote Desktop Connection (RDC) 7.1 client. RDC 7.1 is included with Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1 and Windows 7 with SP1.

The same restriction applies to the VMM Administrator Console, where you cannot use the Connect to virtual machine option or view a thumbnail of a RemoteFX-enabled virtual machine. You must use the RDC 7.1 client to connect to the virtual machine.

Configuring RemoteFX Settings

For information about how to configure RemoteFX settings in VMM, see How to Configure the Video Adapter for a Virtual Machine.

How RemoteFX Affects Placement

Be aware that if the virtual machine (including any one of its checkpoints) is configured to use the RemoteFX 3D video adapter, placement is blocked during creation or migration if the host does not support RemoteFX. For additional RemoteFX-related placement considerations, see the “Conditions That Cause a Zero Rating” section of How Virtual Machine Manager Rates Hosts. Specifically, refer to the “Video” row of the table.

Updated Management Packs

Updated management packs are available for VMM 2008 R2 SP1. Be aware that you cannot use previous versions of the management packs on a VMM 2008 R2 SP1-based server. The management packs include a change to enable Performance and Resource Optimization (PRO) to use current memory consumption instead of a static memory value. The updated management packs are included with the download of VMM 2008 R2 SP1, in the i386\VirtualizationMP folder or the amd64\VirtualizationMP folder. For information about Operations Manager integration, see How to Integrate Operations Manager with VMM 2008 R2 (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=162959).

See Also

Did you find this helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.