本文為機器翻譯文章。如需檢視英文版,請選取 [原文] 核取方塊。您也可以將滑鼠指標移到文字上,即可在快顯視窗顯示英文原文。
譯文
原文

在 SharePoint Server 2013 中規劃跨網站發佈網站的搜尋功能

 

適用版本:SharePoint Server 2013 Enterprise

上次修改主題的時間:2015-03-09

摘要:了解如何規劃 SharePoint 跨網站發佈網站的搜尋導向頁面。

搜尋導向頁面是使用搜尋技術動態顯示內容的頁面。本文說明用於設定搜尋導向頁面的功能 (例如 Managed 屬性、精簡器、結果來源及建議),以及當您設定及使用這些功能時所需考量的事項。

本文內容:

本文是以<SharePoint Server 2013 的跨網站發佈概觀>中的資訊為基礎。

預設的內容來源為「本機 SharePoint」網站。您可以使用此內容來源對 Web 應用程式內的所有內容進行編目。不過,建議您針對要做為目錄共用的文件庫或清單,建立不同的內容來源。當您設定要做為目錄共用之文件庫或清單的內容來源時,建議您選取 [啟用連續編目] 以指定編目排程。連續編目會以設定的間隔啟動,讓搜尋系統可以編目內容,並快速將任何變更的內容新增至索引。連續編目的預設編目間隔為 15 分鐘,但是您可以設定較短或較長的間隔。啟用連續編目也表示網站管理員不需要等候 Search Service 應用程式管理員手動啟動編目,即可以目錄的最新變更來更新搜尋索引。

如需如何設定內容來源及管理連續編目的資訊,請參閱<在 SharePoint Server 2013 中設定網站間發佈功能>中的<設定跨網站發佈的搜尋>。

Managed 屬性 (Property) 可以包含許多設定或屬性 (Attribute)。這些設定或屬性會保留在搜尋結構描述中,並且可決定內容在「搜尋網頁組件」和搜尋結果中的顯示方式。網站管理員可以讀取搜尋結構描述 (例如網站集合層級上之編目屬性與 Managed 屬性間的對應),但無法編輯搜尋結構描述。使用管理中心的管理員及網站集合管理員可以編輯搜尋結構描述。

編輯搜尋結構描述時,請考慮下列事項:

  • 哪些 Managed 屬性包含所要搜尋的內容?

  • 哪些 Managed 屬性包含不想在搜尋結果中傳回的內容?

  • 哪些 Managed 屬性要用來排序搜尋結果?

  • 哪些 Managed 屬性要啟用做為精簡器?

如需不同 Managed 屬性設定的詳細資訊,請參閱<SharePoint Server 2013 的搜尋結構描述概觀>中的<Managed 屬性設定概觀>。

當您規劃使用精簡器和多面向導覽時,請考慮下列各節中的問題。

共有兩種精簡器類型:獨立及多面向導覽。您可以在網站上只使用一種類型,或兩者合併使用。內容的結構及網站上所使用的導覽類型會決定您應選擇的精簡器類型。

  • 獨立精簡器通常用於當您有非結構化內容的情況下。您可以在此內容中識別幾個 Managed 屬性,做為跨所有內容的精簡器。不過,您不想讓精簡器隨字詞組中的字詞變更。例如,在內部網路案例中,您可以將獨立精簡器新增至「搜尋中心」頁面。這些獨立精簡器通常是套用至內部網路中大多數項目的 Managed 屬性 (例如「作者」和「日期」)。

  • 多面向導覽精簡器適用於當您有結構化內容 (例如目錄內容) 的情況下。此內容會繫結至字詞組,且不同的字詞需要使用不同的精簡器。例如,在顯示電子產品之產品目錄的網際網路商務案例中,會使用字詞組分類不同的產品,例如「電腦」或「相機」。啟用 Managed 屬性「螢幕大小」和「百萬像素」做為精簡器之後,您可以設定多面向導覽讓「螢幕大小」做為「電腦」的精簡器,並讓「百萬像素」做為「相機」的精簡器。這表示您可以引導使用者存取與特定類別相關的內容,以更輕鬆快速地瀏覽目錄內容。

識別要指定為精簡器的 Managed 屬性時,請考慮使用者要區別及瀏覽的資訊類型。

使用精簡器進行多面向導覽時,請務必識別代表使用者瀏覽目錄時認為有用之資訊的精簡器。您可以在字詞庫管理中設定精簡器。您可以設定特定字詞組的精簡器、套用至字詞組中所有字詞的精簡器,或特定字詞的特定精簡器。請考慮下列項目:

  • 哪些 Managed 屬性代表使用者想快速瀏覽以存取所有我的目錄項目之資訊?

  • 哪些 Managed 屬性代表僅專屬於我的目錄項目的子集資訊?

請注意,在頁面增加眾多精簡器可能會增加處理查詢的時間。如需詳細資訊,請參閱評估 Web Content Management 的容量和效能 (SharePoint Server 2013)

若要在字詞庫管理工具中設定精簡器,請將精簡器新增至字詞組中的字詞。當您設定精簡器時,請考慮下列事項:

  • 字詞組中的所有字詞是否要使用相同的精簡器,或是否有任何字詞特定的精簡器?

    根據預設,字詞組中的所有字詞會從父系字詞繼承精簡器設定。此設定會向下傳遞至所有子字詞。針對任何字詞,您可以選擇中斷繼承將字詞特定的精簡器新增至任何子字詞。

  • 精簡器的儲存方式為何?

    您可以指定精簡器值的儲存方式,以及排序方向為遞增或遞減。排序選項如下:

    • 計數:依具有特定值的項目數來排序

    • 名稱:依值的名稱來排序

    • 數字

  • 是否有任何精簡器需要等分其值?

    「整數」、「小數」或「日期和時間」資料類型的精簡器通常會有許多值。在此情況下,系統會自動等分放置這些值。

您也可以選擇指定自訂間隔。

如需如何新增精簡器及設定多面向導覽的資訊,請參閱<在 SharePoint Server 2013 中設定精簡器與 Facet 導覽>。

「結果來源」可縮小所擷取之搜尋結果的範圍。SharePoint Server 2013 提供許多預先定義的結果來源。許多預先定義的結果來源具有對應的網頁組件,其中的結果來源會指定為查詢的一部分。例如,結果來源「本機視訊結果」可設定為「視訊網頁組件」所使用之查詢的一部分。

您可以在管理中心和網站集合管理中管理結果來源。如果您熟悉「關鍵字查詢語言」(KQL),則可以建立自訂結果來源。

當您建立「內容搜尋網頁組件」中的查詢時,會以清單顯示所有可用的結果來源。設定此網頁組件的使用者可輕鬆縮小在網頁組件中顯示的結果範圍。例如,網站集合管理員可以在內部網路網站上,建立結果來源「我的 PowerPoint 簡報」,然後將搜尋結果的範圍縮小為登入該網站之使用者所建立的 PowerPoint 簡報。所有使用者都可將「內容搜尋網頁組件」新增至其「我的網站」,並選取結果來源「我的 PowerPoint 簡報」來設定網頁組件。當使用者瀏覽其「我的網站」時,網頁組件只會顯示使用者自己建立的 PowerPoint 簡報。

另一個範例是網際網路網站,在此範例中,使用要作為目錄共用的清單來維護多種語言的產品資料。網站集合管理員可以建立結果來源「美式英文產品」,然後設定此結果來源將搜尋結果的範圍縮小至語言標記為 en-us 的產品。具有「參與」權限等級的使用者可以接著新增「內容搜尋網頁組件」,然後選取「美式英文產品」結果來源,將網頁組件設定為僅顯示具有美式英文資訊的產品。

除了預先定義的結果來源之外,SharePoint Server 2013 會在您將目錄連線至發佈網站時,自動建立結果來源。自動建立的結果來源會新增至發佈網站中的結果來源。此結果來源將搜尋結果限制在目錄的 URL,換句話說,當選取網頁組件中的結果來源時,只會顯示該目錄中的內容。

注意事項 附註:
在您建立任何結果來源之前,請啟動目錄內容的完整編目,並將目錄連線至發佈網站。

如需如何設定結果來源的詳細資訊,請參閱在 SharePoint Server 2013 中設定 Web 內容管理的結果來源

您可以為一或多個結果來源指定「查詢規則」。結果來源可作為使用搜尋技術之網頁組件查詢的一部分,並且您可以輕鬆影響網站上所有「搜尋網頁組件」顯示搜尋結果的方式。透過指定觸發查詢規則的一段有限時間,您可以控制何時在網站內推銷特定項目,而不需要擔心如何在特定時間新增或移除內容。假設您透過產品目錄來銷售電子產品,並想在情人節於美國推銷粉紅色的相機。您可以建立開始日期為 2 月 14 日,而結束日期為 2 月 15 日的結果來源查詢規則。如果查詢包含「相機」一詞,則會觸發查詢規則,並在「搜尋網頁組件」中先出現粉紅色的相機。

如需如何建立查詢規則的詳細資訊,請參閱在 SharePoint Server 2013 中建立 Web 內容管理的查詢規則

SharePoint Server 2013 的 [流量分析] 功能會自動追蹤使用者檢視的項目有多不同。項目可以是文件、網站,或使用跨網站發佈在網站上顯示的清單項目。每次使用者檢視項目,系統會發出「流量事件」,並將此事件新增至該項目的最近流量事件總數。下列流量事件會預先設定:

  • 檢視 - 單一項目、頁面或文件的檢視次數。

  • 顯示的建議 - 單一項目、頁面或文件顯示為建議的次數。

  • 建議的點閱 - 單一項目、頁面或文件顯示為建議時的點閱次數。

您可以透過下列方式使用流量事件所產生的資料:

  • 顯示網站上的建議或常用項目。透過建議,您可以根據使用者先前與網站的互動方式,來引導使用者存取其他相關內容。您可以透過新增一或多個網頁組件將建議新增至頁面。「建議項目網頁組件」和「常用項目網頁組件」是專為顯示建議所設計。如需這些網頁組件的詳細資訊,請參閱<規劃 SharePoint Server 2013 中供網站間發佈用的製作網站>中的<規劃新增搜尋網頁組件至頁面>。

  • 以流量事件的計數來排序搜尋結果。例如,在搜尋結果最上方顯示包含最常檢視之事件的項目。

  • 檢視在 [最常用的項目] 流量報表中的流量事件資料。此報表適用於文件庫中的所有項目,並且會列出每個流量事件的最常用項目,例如文件庫中最常檢視的頁面清單。

  • 檢視在 [常用性趨勢] 報表中的流量事件資料。此報表適用於文件庫或清單中的網站集合、網站或個別項目。此報表會顯示每個流量事件的每日及每月計數,例如某個頁面在特定日期的檢視總數。

下圖顯示如何透過 Search Service 應用程式中的元件從網頁組件傳送流量事件,然後在流量報表中使用流量事件,並在網頁組件中顯示建議及常用項目。

流量分析、流量事件及建議的資料流程概觀

建議

如需流量分析架構的詳細資訊,請參閱<SharePoint Server 2013 的分析處理概觀>。

預先設定的流量事件可能不足以滿足您的業務需求。若要追蹤對網站或業務重要的使用者活動,您可以使用 Windows PowerShell 最多登錄十二個自訂流量事件。例如,如果您希望能夠追蹤透過行動電話檢視目錄項目的頻率,您可以新增自訂事件對此進行追蹤。

當您設定新網站時,尚無任何會產生流量事件的使用者流量。因此,系統中不會有任何建議及常用項目。若要從頭開始顯示建議及常用項目,您可以從之前的 SharePoint 系統匯入現有的事件,或從協力廠商 Web Analytics 提供者匯入事件。您必須根據特定規則設定資料格式,才能正確匯入現有的資料。

發生流量事件時,會將此事件記錄至要作為目錄共用之文件庫中的項目。透過系統記錄及傳送流量事件的預設方法是使用文件庫中的項目 URL 作為識別碼。但是,您匯入的流量事件資料可以使用不同的識別碼記錄流量事件,例如 InternalNumber。您必須變更在作為目錄共用之文件庫中記錄流量事件的方式,以符合匯入事件之流量事件的記錄方式。若要變更此方式,您必須執行下列動作:

  1. 在要作為目錄共用的文件庫中新增一欄,以表示記錄匯入流量事件時所使用的識別碼 (例如 InternalNumber),並將文件庫中所有項目對應的 InternalNumber 值新增至此欄。

  2. 將此欄的編目屬性對應至 Managed 屬性 UsageEventItemId。

  3. 將用於顯示個別目錄項目的網頁組件變更為使用 Managed 屬性 UsageEventItemId,以記錄流量事件。

預設的建議演算法會計算個別目錄項目之間的建議。編目屬性 ows_q_TEXT_ProductCatalogItemNumber 預設會對應至 Managed 屬性 UsageAnalyticsID,以指定計算建議所應依據的屬性。例如,如果在網站上顯示電子產品目錄,且使用者檢視 AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 White,只有此特定產品會取得建議計數。

根據目錄資料的結構化方式及您想顯示產品的方式,您可能需要變更建議演算法計算建議的方式。例如,您可以選擇在檢視某種色彩變化時,產品的所有色彩變化會取得一個建議計數。假設目錄中的產品具有下表所列的資料結構。

 

產品標題 項目編號 群組編號

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 White

1010101

10101

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 Black

1010102

10101

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 Yellow

1010103

10101

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 Red

1010104

10101

您可能不想在頁面上顯示目錄中的所有色彩變化,而只想顯示一種色彩變化,然後列出其他色彩變化。但是,您想在檢視其中一種變化時,讓所有色彩變化取得一個建議計數。換句話說,您想根據群組編號而非項目編號計算建議。若要執行這項操作,您必須將編目屬性「群組編號」對應至 Managed 屬性 UsageAnalyticsID。接者會計算群組之間 (而不是個別項目之間) 的建議。這表示針對某個群組,系統會為一個特定群組傳回一組建議的群組。

注意事項 附註:
當您將某個屬性對應至 UsageAnalyticsID Managed 屬性時,請確定此屬性是項目詳細資料頁面之易記 URL 的一部分。這是因為「建議項目網頁組件」使用 URL 中的權杖來顯示正確的建議。

依重要性排序流量事件類型

您可以使用 Windows PowerShell 變更流量事件類型的重要性,藉此影響建議的計算方式。在建議計算中,您可以定義某種類型的流量事件應該比其他流量事件更重要。例如,假設您有兩個流量事件:行動電話的檢視次數及網站的檢視次數。如果您希望行動電話的檢視次數在建議演算法中比網站的檢視次數更重要,則可以提供行動電話的檢視次數流量事件較高的權重 (例如 10),並提供網站的檢視次數流量事件較低的權重 (例如 1)。

https://technet.microsoft.com/zh-tw/library/gg398060.aspx
顯示:

Export (0) Print
Expand All
1 out of 3 rated this helpful - Rate this topic

Plan search for cross-site publishing sites in SharePoint Server 2013

SharePoint 2013

Published: August 21, 2012

Summary: Learn how to plan for search-driven pages for SharePoint cross-site publishing sites.

Applies to:  SharePoint Server 2013 Enterprise 

Search-driven pages are pages that use search technology to dynamically show content. This article describes features that you will use when you set up search-driven pages, such as managed properties, refiners, result sources, and recommendations, and what you must consider when you set up and use these features.

In this article:

This article builds on the information in Overview of cross-site publishing in SharePoint Server 2013.

Plan content sources and crawling

The default content source is Local SharePoint sites. You can use this content source to crawl all content within the web application. However, we recommend that you create separate content sources for libraries or lists that you share as catalogs. When you set up a content source for libraries or lists that are shared as catalogs, we recommend that you select Enable Continuous Crawl when specifying the crawl schedules. A continuous crawl starts at set intervals, which enables the search system to crawl the content and quickly add any changed content to the index. The default crawl interval for continuous crawl is 15 minutes, but you can set shorter or longer intervals. Enabling continuous crawl also means that a site administrator will not have to wait for the search service application administrator to manually start a crawl in order to update the search index with the latest changes from a catalog.

For information about how to set up a content source and manage continuous crawling, see "Configure search for cross-site publishing" in Configure cross-site publishing in SharePoint Server 2013.

Plan to manage managed properties in the search index

Managed properties can have many settings, or attributes. These settings, or attributes, are maintained in the search schema, and determine how the contents can be shown in Search Web Parts and search results. Site administrators can read the search schema, such as the mappings between crawled and managed properties on the site collection level. However, they can’t edit the search schema. Administrators using Central Administration and site collection administrators can edit the search schema.

When editing the search schema, consider the following:

  • Which managed properties contain content that I want to search?

  • Which managed properties contain content that I don’t want to be returned in search results?

  • Which managed properties do I want to use to sort search results?

  • Which managed properties do I want to enable as refiners?

For more information about the different managed properties settings, see "Managed property settings overview" in Overview of the search schema in SharePoint Server 2013.

Plan refiners and faceted navigation

When you plan to use refiners and faceted navigation, consider the questions in the following sections.

What type of refiners do you want to use?

There are two types of refiners: stand-alone and for faceted navigation. You can use just one type on the site, or a combination of both. The structure of the content and what kind of navigation you use on the site will determine the type of refiners that you should choose.

  • Stand-alone refiners are usually used in scenarios where you have unstructured content. Within this content, you can identify several managed properties that can be used as refiners across all content. However, you do not want the refiners to change depending on a term in a term set. For example, in an intranet scenario, you can add stand-alone refiners to a Search Center page. These stand-alone refiners are typically managed properties that apply to most items in the intranet, such as Author and Date.

  • Refiners for faceted navigation are used in scenarios where you have structured content, such as catalog content. This content is tied to a term set, and you want to have different refiners for different terms. For example, in an Internet business scenario where a product catalog of electronic products is shown, a term set is used to categorize the different products — for example, Computers or Cameras. After you enable the managed properties Screen Size and Megapixels as refiners, you can configure faceted navigation so that Screen Size appears as a refiner for Computers, and Megapixels appears as a refiner for Cameras. This means that you can guide users to content that is relevant for a specific category. This makes it easier and faster to browse through catalog content.

How do you identify a refiner?

When identifying which managed properties you want to specify as refiners, consider what kind of information users want to differentiate on and browse to.

When using refiners for faceted navigation, it is especially important that you identify refiners that represent information that users will find useful when they browse through a catalog. You configure refiners in Term Store Management. You can set refiners for a specific term set, you can configure refiners to apply to all terms in a term set, or you can set specific refiners for a specific term. Consider the following:

  • Which managed properties represent information that users want to quickly browse to for all my catalog items?

  • Which managed properties represent information that is unique for only a sub-set of my catalog items?

Note that adding many refiners to your page may increase the time to process a query. For more information, see Estimate capacity and performance for Web Content Management (SharePoint Server 2013)

How should you configure refiners in the Term Store Management Tool?

You configure refiners in the Term Store Management Tool by adding refiners to terms in a term set. When you configure refiners, consider the following:

  • Do you want all terms within your term set to have the same refiners, or do you have any term-specific refiners?

    By default, all terms in a term set are set to inherit the refiner configuration from the parent term. The configuration is passed down to all child terms. For any term, you can choose to break inheritance to add term-specific refiners to any child terms.

  • How should my refiners be sorted?

    You can specify how the refiner values should be sorted, and if the sort direction should be ascending or descending. The sorting options are as follows:

    • Count: sort by the number of items with a specific value

    • Name: sort by the name of the value

    • Number

  • Do I have any refiners where I want the values to be grouped in intervals?

    Refiners of data type Integer, Decimal, or Date and Time can often have many values. When this is the case, the values are automatically placed in intervals.

You can also choose to specify custom intervals.

For information about how to add refiners and configure faceted navigation, see Configure refiners and faceted navigation in SharePoint Server 2013

Plan result sources and query rules

Result sources narrow the scope of search results that are retrieved. SharePoint Server 2013 provides many pre-defined result sources. Many of the pre-defined result sources have a corresponding Web Part where the result source is specified as part of the query. For example, the result source Local Video Results is set as part of the query that is used in the Videos Web Part.

You manage result sources in Central Administration and in site collection administration. If you are familiar with Keyword Query Language (KQL), you can create custom result sources.

All available result sources appear in a list when you build the query in a Content Search Web Part. Users who configure this Web Part can easily narrow the scope of results that can be shown in the Web Part. For example, for an intranet site, a site collection administrator can create a result source named My PowerPoint Presentations, and configure it to narrow the scope of the search results to PowerPoint presentations created by the user who is logged on to the site. Any user can add a Content Search Web Part to their My Site and configure the Web Part by selecting the result source My PowerPoint Presentations. When users browse to their My Sites, the Web Part only shows PowerPoint presentations that they have created themselves.

Another example is an Internet site, where a list that is shared as a catalog is used to maintain product data in many languages. A site collection administrator can create a result source named US English products and configure it to narrow the scope of search results to products with the language tag en-us. A user who has the Contribute permission level can then add a Content Search Web Part, and configure it to show only products that have information in US English, by selecting the US English products result source.

In addition to the pre-defined result sources, SharePoint Server 2013 automatically creates a result source when you connect a catalog to a publishing site. The automatically created result source is added to the result sources in your publishing site. This result source limits search results to the URL of the catalog, which means that only content from that catalog will be shown when that result source is selected in a Web Part.

note Note:

Before you create any result sources, start a full crawl of the catalog content, and connect a catalog to your publishing site.

For information about how to configure result sources, see Configure result sources for web content management in SharePoint Server 2013.

Query rules can be specified for one or more result sources. Result sources are used as part of the query in Web Parts that use search technology, and you can easily influence how search results are shown for all Search Web Parts on your site. By specifying a limited time period for when a query rule is triggered, you can control when certain items are promoted within your website, without having to worry about how to add or remove content at a particular time. Let's say that you are selling electronic products through a product catalog, and you want to promote pink cameras on Valentine’s day in the United States. You can create a query rule for a result source that starts on February 14th, and ends on February 15th. The query rule is triggered if a query contains the term Cameras, and pink cameras appear first in the Search Web Part.

For information about how to create query rules, see Create query rules for web content management in SharePoint Server 2013.

Plan usage analytics, usage events and recommendations

The Usage Analytics feature in SharePoint Server 2013 automatically tracks how different items are being viewed by users. Items can be documents, sites, or list items that are shown on a site by using cross-site publishing. Every time that a user views an item, the system issues a usage event and adds this to the total and recent usage event counts for that item. The following usage events are preconfigured:

  • Views – number of views for a single item, page, or document.

  • Recommendations Displayed - number of times a single item, page or document was displayed as a recommendation.

  • Recommendation Clicks – number of times a single item, page or document was clicked when it was displayed as a recommendation.

You can use the data that is generated by usage events in the following ways:

  • Show recommendations or popular items on your site. By using recommendations, you can guide users to other content that may be relevant for them, based on how users previously interacted with the site. You can add recommendations to a page by adding one or more Web Parts. The Recommended Items and Popular Items Web Parts are especially designed to show recommendations. For more information about these Web Parts, see "Plan to add Search Web Parts to pages" in Plan publishing sites for cross-site publishing in SharePoint Server 2013.

  • Sort search results by the number of counts of a usage event. For example, show items that have the most view events at the top of search results.

  • View the usage event data in the Most Popular Items usage report. This report applies to all items in a library, and lists the most popular items for each usage event — for example, a list of the most viewed pages in a library.

  • View the usage event data in the Popularity Trends report. This report applies to a Site Collection, a Site or an individual item in a library or list. The report shows the daily and monthly counts for each usage event — for example, the total views of a page on a specific day.

The following illustration shows how usage events are sent from Web Parts, through components in the Search service application, and are then used in usage reports and to show recommendations and popular items in Web Parts.

Overview of data flow for usage analytics, usage events, and recommendations

Recommendations

For more information about the usage analytics framework, see Overview of analytics processing in SharePoint Server 2013.

Plan to add custom usage events

The preconfigured usage events may not be sufficient for your business needs. To track user activities that are important to your site or business, you can register up to twelve custom usage events by using Windows PowerShell. For example, if you want to be able to track how often a catalog item is viewed from a mobile phone, you can add a custom event that tracks this.

Plan to import existing usage events

When you set up a new site, there has not been any user traffic to generate usage events. Therefore, there will be no recommendations and popular items in the system. To be able to show recommendations and popular items from the beginning, you can import existing events from a previous SharePoint system, or import events from a third-party web analytics provider. To correctly import existing data, the data have to be formatted according to specific rules.

Whenever a usage event occurs, the event is logged to the item in the library that you shared as a catalog. The default method for logging and sending usage events through the system is to use the URL of the item in the library as ID. However, the usage event data that you import may use a different ID to log usage events, for example InternalNumber. You must change the way that usage events in the library that you shared as a catalog are logged to match how usage events for the imported events are logged. To change this, you must do the following:

  1. In the library that you shared as a catalog, add a column that represents the ID on which the imported usage events are logged, for example InternalNumber, and add corresponding InternalNumber values to this column for all items in the library.

  2. Map the crawled property of this column to the managed property UsageEventItemId.

  3. Change the Web Part used to show individual catalog items to use the managed property UsageEventItemId to log usage events.

Plan to influence how recommendations are calculated

The default recommendations algorithm calculates recommendations between individual catalog items. By default, the crawled property ows_q_TEXT_ProductCatalogItemNumber is mapped to the managed property UsageAnalyticsID, which specifies the property on which recommendations should be calculated. For example, if you show a catalog of electronic products on your site, and a user views AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 White, only this specific product will get a recommendation count.

Depending on how catalog data is structured and how you want to show the products, you might want to change how the recommendations algorithm calculates the recommendations. You can, for example, choose that all color variants of a product get a recommendation count when one color variant is viewed. Let's say that the products in the catalog have the data structure listed in the following table.

Product title Item number Group number

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 White

1010101

10101

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 Black

1010102

10101

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 Yellow

1010103

10101

AdventureWorks Laptop15.4W M1548 Red

1010104

10101

You may not want to show every color variant in your catalog on a page, but only show one color variant, and then list the other color variants. However, you want all color variants to get a recommendation count when one of the variants is viewed. That is, you want recommendations to be calculated based on Group number and not Item number. To do this, you must map the crawled property Group number to the managed property UsageAnalyticsID. Recommendations will then be calculated between groups and not between individual items. This means that given a group, the system will return a set of recommended groups for a particular group.

note Note:

When you map a property to the UsageAnalyticsID managed property, make sure that this property is part of the friendly URL for your item details page. This is because the Recommended Items Web Part uses a token from the URL to show the correct recommendations.

Rank usage event types by importance

You can influence how recommendations are calculated by changing the importance of usage event types by using Windows PowerShell. In the recommendations calculations, you can define that a usage event of one type should be considered more important than other usage events. For example, you have two usage events: views from a mobile phone and views from a site. If you want views from a mobile phone to be more important than views from a site in the recommendations algorithm, you can give the usage event views from a mobile a high weight (for example 10), and the usage event views from a site a low weight (for example 1).

Did you find this helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.