Define an internal cost allocation [AX 2012]

Updated: October 17, 2012

Applies To: Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R3, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R2, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 Feature Pack, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012

To allocate costs, you must first set up a calculation version. You can then select among the following three allocation types:

  • Allocation

  • Internal cost allocation

  • Surcharge calculation

To allocate costs by using the Internal cost allocation allocation type:

  1. Click Cost accounting > Setup > Calculation > Calculation versions. Click Allocations.

  2. Press CTRL+N to create a new line.

  3. In the Allocation level field, select the allocation level. If you select Hierarchy, specify the allocation hierarchy in the Allocation hierarchy field.

  4. In the Allocation reference field, type a reference.

  5. In the Allocation dimension field, select an allocation dimension. The allocation dimension can be either a dimension or a division. This field is available only if you selected Dimension in the Allocation level field.

  6. In the Allocation type field, select Internal cost allocation.

  7. On the General tab, select Allocation account and Offset account.

  8. On the Internal cost allocation tab, select the check boxes under Cost share.

  9. In the Service category field, select the service category that you want to allocate. You can select only service categories for which the Use of service category field in the Cost categories form is set to Internal cost allocation.

  10. In the Cost rate type field, select the type of cost rate for each value type.


The allocations are calculated in the order shown on the Overview tab of the Allocations form. The order in which the calculations are run affects the result. To change the order, click the Up and Down buttons.

Announcements: To see known issues and recent fixes, use Issue search in Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS).