Applies to: Exchange Server 2010

Topic Last Modified: 2011-03-19

Use the Set-AcceptedDomain cmdlet to configure an existing accepted domain in your organization. An accepted domain is any SMTP namespace for which an Exchange organization sends and receives e-mail.

Set-AcceptedDomain -Identity <AcceptedDomainIdParameter> [-AddressBookEnabled <$true | $false>] [-Confirm [<SwitchParameter>]] [-DomainController <Fqdn>] [-DomainType <Authoritative | ExternalRelay | InternalRelay>] [-MakeDefault <$true | $false>] [-Name <String>] [-WhatIf [<SwitchParameter>]]

Parameter Required Type Description




The Identity parameter specifies a string value for the accepted domain. Enter either the GUID or unique name that you set with the Name parameter of the accepted domain object.




The AddressBookEnabled parameter specifies whether to enable recipient filtering on the Edge Transport server role that accepts mail for this accepted domain. You should set this parameter to $true only if all the recipients in this accepted domain are replicated to the Edge Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services (AD LDS) instance where recipient filtering is run for this accepted domain. The default values for this parameter are as follows:

  • For authoritative domains   $true
  • For internal relay domains   $false
  • For external relay domains   $false




The Confirm switch causes the command to pause processing and requires you to acknowledge what the command will do before processing continues. You don't have to specify a value with the Confirm switch.




The DomainController parameter specifies the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the domain controller that writes this configuration change to Active Directory. The DomainController parameter isn't supported on the Edge Transport server role. The Edge Transport server role writes only to the Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services (AD LDS) instance.




The DomainType parameter specifies the type of accepted domain that you want to configure. Valid values are Authoritative, InternalRelay, and ExternalRelay. You must set at least one value.

In an authoritative domain, messages are delivered to a recipient that has a domain account in your Exchange organization. In an internal relay domain, messages are relayed to a server outside your Exchange organization, but still under the authority of your company or IT department. Use the internal relay domain if you want to treat messages to this domain as internal messages. In an external relay domain, messages are relayed to an e-mail server outside your organization, which you don't control.

The default value is Authoritative.




The MakeDefault parameter specifies whether the accepted domain is the default domain. The default accepted domain is the domain name associated with outbound messages that have encapsulated addresses, such as, for non-Exchange e-mail system interoperability. If you don't interoperate with a non-Exchange e-mail system in your organization, you don't have to set this parameter. For the first accepted domain created in the organization, the default value is $true. For subsequent accepted domains, the default value is $false.




The Name parameter specifies a unique name for a remote domain object.




The WhatIf switch instructs the command to simulate the actions that it would take on the object. By using the WhatIf switch, you can view what changes would occur without having to apply any of those changes. You don't have to specify a value with the WhatIf switch.

You need to be assigned permissions before you can run this cmdlet. Although all parameters for this cmdlet are listed in this topic, you may not have access to some parameters if they're not included in the permissions assigned to you. To see what permissions you need, see the "Accepted domains" entry in the Transport Permissions topic.

This example makes the accepted domain Contoso the default accepted domain.

Set-AcceptedDomain -Identity Contoso -MakeDefault $true