Export (0) Print
Expand All


Exchange 2010

Applies to: Exchange Server 2010 SP3, Exchange Server 2010 SP2

Topic Last Modified: 2012-11-19

Use the Get-EventLogLevel cmdlet to display a list of event categories and log levels for a specified computer running Microsoft Exchange Server 2010.

Get-eventloglevel [-Identity <ECIdParameter>] [-DomainController <Fqdn>]

Get-eventloglevel -Server <ServerIdParameter> [-DomainController <Fqdn>]

You need to be assigned permissions before you can run this cmdlet. Although all parameters for this cmdlet are listed in this topic, you may not have access to some parameters if they're not included in the permissions assigned to you. To see what permissions you need, see the "Exchange server configuration settings" entry in the Exchange and Shell Infrastructure Permissions topic.

You can specify either the Server or Identity parameter, but not both.


Parameter Required Type Description




The Server parameter specifies the server for which event categories and log levels are retrieved.




The DomainController parameter specifies the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the domain controller that retrieves data from Active Directory.




The Identity parameter specifies the name of the event category and log level to display.

To see the input types that this cmdlet accepts, see Cmdlet Input and Output Types. If the Input Type field for a cmdlet is blank, the cmdlet doesn’t accept input data.

To see the return types, which are also known as output types, that this cmdlet accepts, see Cmdlet Input and Output Types. If the Output Type field is blank, the cmdlet doesn’t return data.

This example displays the event categories and log levels for the server Exchange01.

Get-EventLogLevel -Server "Exchange01"
 © 2010 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

© 2015 Microsoft