This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

Deploying the Multiple Server, Single Management Group Scenario

Updated: May 22, 2009

Applies To: Operations Manager 2007 R2, Operations Manager 2007 SP1


To provide high availability for the OperationsManager, Data Warehouse and Audit Collection Services (ACS) databases, and the root management server (RMS), this installation calls for two Cluster service (formerly known as MSCS) clusters (Windows Server 2003) or two Failover Clusters (Windows Server 2008). Each cluster consists of two nodes: one is actively running the workload, and the other is passively waiting for the workload to failover to it. The SQL Server database workloads are on one cluster and the RMS is on the other. For information about how to install and configure a Windows Server 2003 cluster, see Windows Server 2003 online help or the Quick Start Guide for Server Clusters For information about how to install and configure a Windows Server 2008 cluster, see Windows Server 2008 online help at:

Although this configuration uses two-node clusters, all of the Operations Manager 2007 databases can be placed on n+1-node clusters. Operations Manager places no limits on the number of nodes that can be in a cluster for the databases and is limited only by SQL Server clustering capabilities. For the RMS, the only supported configuration is a two-node cluster running in an active-passive configuration. No other Operations Manager roles may be placed on the RMS cluster.

This scenario includes procedures for deploying Operations Manager 2007 into different environments:

  • Windows Server 2003, SQL Server 2005 MSCS for OperationsManager, and Data Warehouse databases

  • Windows Server 2003 MSCS for the RMS role

  • Windows Server 2008, SQL Server 2008 Failover cluster for OperationsManager and Data Warehouse databases

  • Windows Server 2008 Failover cluster for the RMS role

The procedures are grouped by operating system.

This deployment scenario uses the following:

  • One MSCS cluster for SQL Server 2005 or SQL Server 2008 to host the components of the OperationsManager, Data Warehouse, and ACS databases.

  • One MSCS cluster for the Operations Manager RMS component.

  • One or more stand-alone servers for secondary management server components.

  • One stand-alone server with SQL Server 2005 or SQL Server 2008 Database and Reporting Services for the Operations Manager Reporting component.

  • One or more stand-alone servers for the Operations Manager ACS component.

    Each ACS installation requires a dedicated instance of SQL Server.

  • One or more stand-alone servers for the Operations Manager gateway server component.

  • Certificates issued from a Microsoft Certificate Services certification authority or from another certificate issuer.

For information about complete planning assistance, see the Operations Manager 2007 Design Guide,