How to Specify a Redundant Cluster Network for Seeding and Reseeding

Exchange 2007

Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 will reach end of support on April 11, 2017. To stay supported, you will need to upgrade. For more information, see Resources to help you upgrade your Office 2007 servers and clients.


Applies to: Exchange Server 2007 SP1, Exchange Server 2007 SP2, Exchange Server 2007 SP3

Topic Last Modified: 2007-08-09

This topic explains how to use the Exchange Management Shell to designate a specific cluster network for seeding and reseeding operations. Seeding and reseeding of a storage group in a cluster continuous replication (CCR) environment is performed using the Update-StorageGroupCopy cmdlet.

In Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 Service Pack 1 (SP1), this cmdlet has been extended to include a new parameter called DataHostNames. The DataHostNames parameter is used to specify which network should be used for seeding or reseeding. The value is a multivalued list of two names: either fully qualified domain names (FQDNs) or host names. One of these names must identify the active node. If the DataHostNames parameter is not specified, all seeding will take place over the public network.

To perform this procedure, the account you use must be delegated the Exchange Server Administrator role. For more information about permissions, delegating roles, and the rights that are required to administer Exchange 2007, see Permission Considerations.

  • Run the following command:

    Update-StorageGroupCopy -Identity <SGName> -DataHostNames:<Name1,Name2>

For detailed syntax and parameter information about the cmdlet, see Update-StorageGroupCopy.