Get-EventLogLevel (RTM)

Exchange 2007

Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 will reach end of support on April 11, 2017. To stay supported, you will need to upgrade. For more information, see Resources to help you upgrade your Office 2007 servers and clients.


Applies to: Exchange Server 2007

Topic Last Modified: 2015-03-09

Use the Get-EventLogLevel cmdlet to display a list of categories and their logging level for a specified Microsoft Exchange server.

Get-eventloglevel [-Identity <ECIdParameter>] [-DomainController <Fqdn>]

Get-eventloglevel -Server <ServerIdParameter> [-DomainController <Fqdn>]

You can specify either the Server or Identity parameter, but not both.

To run the Get-EventLogLevel cmdlet, the account you use must be delegated the following:

  • Exchange View-Only Administrator role

For more information about permissions, delegating roles, and the rights that are required to administer Exchange Server 2007, see Permission Considerations.


Parameter Required Type Description




The Server parameter specifies the server for which event log categories will be retrieved.




The Identity parameter specifies the name of the event logging category to display.




To specify the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the domain controller that retrieves data from the Active Directory directory service, include the DomainController parameter in the command.


Error Description


Exceptions Description

This example displays the event logging level for the server, Exchange01.

Get-EventLogLevel -Server "Exchange01"