Set-EventLogLevel (RTM)

Exchange 2007

Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 will reach end of support on April 11, 2017. To stay supported, you will need to upgrade. For more information, see Resources to help you upgrade your Office 2007 servers and clients.


Applies to: Exchange Server 2007

Topic Last Modified: 2015-03-08

Use the Set-EventLogLevel cmdlet to set the event logging level registry value for the specified category.

Set-eventloglevel -Identity <ECIdParameter> -Level <Lowest | Low | Medium | High | Expert>

To run the Set-EventLogLevel cmdlet, the account you use must be delegated the following:

  • Exchange Server Administrator role and local Administrators group for the target server

For more information about permissions, delegating roles, and the rights that are required to administer Exchange Server 2007, see Permission Considerations.


Parameter Required Type Description




The Identity parameter specifies the name of the event logging category to display.




The Level parameter specifies the logging level for a specified Exchange server.


Error Description


Exceptions Description

This example sets the event log level to High on the local Exchange server for the MSExchangeFDS\FileReplication event logging category.

Run the Get-eventloglevel cmdlet to give you a list of the event categories on your server.

For more information on the Get-eventloglevel cmdlet, see Get-EventLogLevel (RTM).

Set-EventLogLevel -Identity "MSExchangeFDS\FileReplication" -Level High