Middle Tier Architecture

Cc539096.chm_head_left(en-us,TechNet.10).gif Cc539096.chm_head_middle(en-us,TechNet.10).gif Cc539096.chm_head_right(en-us,TechNet.10).gif
Middle Tier Architecture

The Middle Tier architecture is designed to support between 5,000 and 20,000 users. It includes both dedicated servers and servers running more than one role:

  • Two servers running Edge Services
  • Two servers running Client Access and Unified Messaging server roles
  • Two servers running Hub Transport Services
  • Three cluster continuous replication (CCR) clusters (a total of 6 physical servers)


    Customers looking for a lower-TCO, lower-SLA solution could run five local continuous replication (LCR) servers instead.

  • Two Active Directory directory service Domain Controllers

The following figure shows the architecture for a Middle Tier deployment.


Figure: Architecture for Middle Tier deployment