Configure a new shared volume on the Destination Server

Updated: January 22, 2009

Applies To: Windows SBS 2008

To document shared folder properties on the Source Server

  1. On the Source Server, open the Windows SBS Console.

  2. In the navigation bar, click Shared Folders and Web Sites.

  3. Click a shared folder, and then in the Tasks pane click Change folder permissions.

  4. Document the shared folder permissions, and then click Cancel.

  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until the permissions are documented for all shared folders that you plan to migrate to the Destination Server.

To configure a new shared volume

  1. On the Destination Server, open the Windows SBS Console.

  2. Click the Shared Folders and Web Sites tab, click Shared Folders, and then in the Tasks pane click Add a new shared folder.

  3. On the Shared Folder Location page, click Browse, navigate to the drive and local folder on the Destination Server where you want to migrate the data, click OK, and then click Next. If the folder does not exist on the Destination Server, click Make New Folder to create the folder.

  4. On the NTFS Permissions page, click Next.

  5. On the Share Protocols page, click Next.

  6. On the SMB Settings page, click Next.

  7. On the SMB Permissions page, click Users and groups have custom share permissions, and then click Permissions.

    1. On the Permissions dialog box, click Add.

    2. Type the groups and user accounts in the text box, or click Advanced to select the groups and user accounts.

    3. When you finish adding groups and user accounts, click OK to add them to the Group or user names list.

    4. In the Group or user names list, click each group or user account in the list, and then assign the shared folder permission that you documented in step 2.

    5. Click OK to save the changes and to return to the wizard.

  8. Click Next until you reach the Review Settings and Create Share page.

  9. Review the settings that you chose in the Share folder settings text box, and then click Create.

  10. On the Confirmation page, click Close.

Community Additions

ADD
Show: