About managing alerts
|Archived content. No warranty is made as to technical accuracy. Content may contain URLs that were valid when originally published, but now link to sites or pages that no longer exist.|
You can manage alerts by enabling or disabling alerts for the virtual servers and specifying the number of alerts that users can create. You can also specify how often (between 1 and 59 minutes) the server sends out immediate alerts and when users receive daily and weekly alerts.
When enabling or disabling alerts, remember the following:
If you're making major changes to your server, you may want to temporarily disable alerts and then re-enable them when you're done.
When specifying the interval for sending immediate alerts, keep the following in mind:
If there are frequent changes to documents and folders, setting a longer wait interval will reduce the number of e-mail messages that members receive.
If your site has only a few changes per day, you may want to set a short interval (such as two minutes) for immediate alerts.
If you're making major changes to your site, you may want to temporarily disable alerts and then re-enable them when you're done.
You can view alerts for a top-level Web site and delete alerts that are no longer needed. You can manage alerts for top-level Web sites only, not for subsites: Alert data for subsites is stored along with the alert data for the parent top-level Web site.
If you are a server administrator or a member of the SharePoint administrators group, you can also use the Stsadm.exe command-line tool to configure alert settings . Using the command line, you can do the following:
Turn alerts on or off
Specify how many alerts users can create
Set timer settings for alerts
Alerts use the e-mail settings to send alert items. When you configure alert settings, be sure that you also verify the e-mail settings for your virtual server.
Important: When you remove a user from a site after he or she has create alerts, you must manually delete any alerts that he or she has set up. This is also true for any lists or libraries where you change security settings to limit access. If a user has set up alerts for the list or library, he or she will continue to receive them after you change the security settings. It is important to delete these alerts to prevent unauthorized users from having access to site and user information.