Export (0) Print
Expand All

Revert an entire volume shadow copy to a previous version

Updated: January 21, 2005

Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 R2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, Windows Server 2003 with SP2

To revert an entire volume shadow copy to a previous version

  1. Open Computer Management.

  2. In the console tree, right-click Shared Folders, select All Tasks, and then click Configure Shadow Copies.

    Where?

    • Computer Management/System Tools/Shared Folders

  3. In the Shadow Copies dialog box, click the shadow copy that you want to revert to and click Revert.

Notes

  • To perform this procedure, you must be a member of the Administrators group on the local computer, or you must have been delegated the appropriate authority. If the computer is joined to a domain, members of the Domain Admins group might be able to perform this procedure.

  • To open Computer Management, click Start, click Control Panel, double-click Administrative Tools, and then double-click Computer Management.

  • Shadow copies are not included in backups. Once they are deleted, they cannot be restored.

  • You can use the Revert button to revert an entire volume back to an earlier point in time. Reverting the entire volume will undo any changes that were made to files and folders on the volume since the selected snapshot was taken. If you revert a volume, you cannot undo the action later. You should not use Revert on volumes that contain data stores like Active Directory or Exchange.

Information about functional differences

  • Your server might function differently based on the version and edition of the operating system that is installed, your account permissions, and your menu settings. For more information, see Viewing Help on the Web.

See Also

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2015 Microsoft