Defining the Scope of the RMS Implementation

Updated: March 17, 2005

Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 R2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, Windows Server 2003 with SP2

Your deployment plans should address all stages of an RMS implementation, including piloting, internal deployment, and external deployment. For each stage of the pilot program and implementation, you should define the scope of you deployment. The following are examples of basic criteria to help you define the scope. Your RMS implementation may have additional criteria:

  • How many users will participate?

  • How many certificates and licenses (use licenses, client access licenses, publishing licenses, client licensor certificates, and rights account certificates) will be required by users in what period of time?

  • Which RMS-enabled applications will be deployed?

  • How many documents need to be protected?

Plan to implement your RMS deployment by using small pilot groups in a controlled environment. Start with a single RMS-enabled client, and then add groups, documents, and RMS-enabled applications in stages.