Making Changes in the Configuration Database

Updated: June 1, 2008

Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 R2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, Windows Server 2003 with SP2

Configuration changes that you make by using the RMS administration Web site are reflected in the configuration database for the RMS cluster. It is strongly recommended that you change configuration settings from the administration Web site, rather than manually changing data in the configuration database. There are, however, two situations that may require you to manually make changes to the database:

  • Moving the logging database to a different server. By default, the logging database is installed on the same server as the configuration database. If you decide to move the logging database to a different server, you must modify the configuration database to refer to the new location. For more information about moving a logging database, including how to update the configuration database with the new location, see “Relocating the Logging Database” earlier in this subject.

  • Removing user keys that are associated with rights account certificates. When you remove a user account from Active Directory or exclude or revoke a rights account certificate by using the administration Web site, the user keys that are associated with the rights account certificate from the configuration database are not removed. You should manually remove inactive user keys from the configuration database, partly for security reasons, but also to assist in tracking the number of client access licenses (CAL). For more information about removing user keys from the configuration database, see “Deleting User Accounts” earlier in this subject. For more information about tracking CALs, see “Tracking Rights Account Certificates” earlier in this subject.

Manual changes to the configuration database should be minimized. If you need to make changes directly to a configuration database, see your database server administrator.

ImportantImportant
Before making any modifications to the configuration database, the database should be backed up.

Community Additions

ADD
Show: