Export (0) Print
Expand All

How the Network and Sharing Center Works

Updated: April 15, 2008

Applies To: Windows Server 2008

The Network and Sharing Center classifies networks by their location, including private, public, or domain networks. The network location type controls the default security applied to network traffic going to and from that network. For more information, see Network Location Types.

Windows Vista® and Windows Server® 2008 support a new network protocol called Link-Layer Topology Discovery (LLTD) protocol. This protocol, along with the software components that implement it, allows the operating system to diagram your network graphically. For more information, see Network Map.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

© 2015 Microsoft