Export (0) Print
Expand All

Install the Failover Clustering Feature

Applies To: Windows Server 2008 R2

You can install the Failover Clustering feature by using the Add Features command from Initial Configuration Tasks or from Server Manager.

The Failover Clustering feature is included in server products such as Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise and Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter. The Failover Clustering feature is not included in Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard or Windows Web Server 2008 R2.

Membership in the local Administrators group, or equivalent, is the minimum required to complete this procedure. Review details about using the appropriate accounts and group memberships at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=83477.

To install the Failover Clustering feature
  1. If you recently installed Windows Server 2008 R2 on the server and the Initial Configuration Tasks interface is displayed, under Customize This Server, click Add features. (Skip to Step 3.)

  2. If Initial Configuration Tasks is not displayed, add the feature through Server Manager:

    • If Server Manager is already running, click Features. Then under Features Summary, click Add Features.

    • If Server Manager is not running, click Start, click Administrative Tools, click Server Manager, and then, if prompted for permission to continue, click Continue. Then, under Features Summary, click Add Features.

  3. In the Add Features Wizard, click Failover Clustering and then click Install.

  4. When the wizard finishes, close it.

  5. Repeat the process for each server that you want to include in the cluster.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

© 2015 Microsoft