Export (0) Print
Expand All

Install Certification Authorities

Updated: March 28, 2003

Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 R2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, Windows Server 2003 with SP2

Most organizations require a CA hierarchy to provide the required certificate services to meet their security and business needs. If you plan to use a CA hierarchy, you must install the root CA first and then install each subordinate CA in the hierarchy. For example, to create a three-level CA hierarchy and trust chain, install CAs on server computers in the following order:

  1. Root CA

  2. Intermediate CAs

  3. Issuing CAs

For more information about installing CAs, see "Installing and configuring a certification authority" in Help and Support Center for Windows Server 2003.

Community Additions

© 2016 Microsoft