Set advanced restore options
Updated: January 21, 2005
Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 R2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, Windows Server 2003 with SP2
To set advanced restore options
The Backup or Restore Wizard starts by default, unless it is disabled.
Click the Advanced Mode link on the Backup or Restore Wizard.
Click the Restore and Manage Media menu and select the files to restore.
Click the Start Restore button.
On the Confirm Restore dialog box, click Advanced.
Set the advanced restore options you want, and then click OK. See the Notes section for a description of each option.
To perform this procedure, you must be a member of the Administrators group on the local computer, or you must have been delegated the appropriate authority. If the computer is joined to a domain, members of the Domain Admins group might be able to perform this procedure. As a security best practice, consider using Run as to perform this procedure.
To start Backup, click Start, point to All programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click Backup.
Restores security settings for each file and folder. Security settings include permissions, audit entries, and ownership. This option is available only if you have backed up data from an NTFS volume used in the Windows Server 2003 family of operating systems, and you are restoring it to an NTFS volume used in Windows Server 2003 family operating systems.
Restore junction points, and restore file and folder data under junction points to the original location
Restores junction points on your hard disk as well as the data that the junction points point to. If you do not select this check box, the junction points will be restored as common directories and the data your junction points point to will not be accessible. Also, if you are restoring a mounted drive and you want to restore the data that is on the mounted drive, you must select this check box. If you do not select this check box, you will only restore the folder containing the mounted drive.
When restoring replicated data sets, mark the restored data as the primary data for all replicas
Performs a primary restore. Ensures that restored File Replication service (FRS) data is replicated to your other servers. Select this option only when restoring the first replica set to the network. Do not use this option if one or more replica sets have already been restored.
Restore the Cluster Registry to the quorum disk and all other nodes
Ensures that the cluster quorum database is restored and replicated on all nodes in a server cluster. If you select this option, Backup will stop the Cluster service on all other nodes of the server cluster after the node that was restored is rebooted. The entire server cluster will therefore be down during an authoritative restore of the data on the cluster quorum disk. For more information, see Related Topics.
Preserve existing volume mount points
Prevents the restore operation from writing over any volume mount points that you have created on the partition or volume you are restoring data to. This option is primarily applicable when you are restoring data to an entire drive or partition. For example, if you are restoring data to a replacement drive and you have partitioned, formatted the drive, and restored volume mount points, select this option so your volume mount points are not restored. If you are restoring data to a partition or drive that you have just reformatted and you want to restore the old volume mount points, do not select this option.
Information about functional differences
Your server might function differently based on the version and edition of the operating system that is installed, your account permissions, and your menu settings. For more information, see Viewing Help on the Web.