How to View Current Exchange Auditing Logging Levels

Exchange 2007

Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 will reach end of support on April 11, 2017. To stay supported, you will need to upgrade. For more information, see Resources to help you upgrade your Office 2007 servers and clients.


Applies to: Exchange Server 2007 SP1, Exchange Server 2007 SP2, Exchange Server 2007 SP3

Topic Last Modified: 2016-11-10

This topic explains how to use the Exchange Management Console and the Exchange Management Shell to view the current Exchange Auditing logging levels.

To perform this procedure, the account you use must be delegated the following:

  • Local Administrator rights

  • Exchange Organization Administrators rights

For more information about permissions, delegating roles, and the rights that are required to administer Exchange Server 2007, see Permission Considerations.

  1. Start the Exchange Management Console.

  2. Expand Server Configuration, and then click Mailbox.

  3. In the details pane, right-click the mailbox server for which you want to view the logging levels, and then click Manage Diagnostics Logging Properties.

  4. Expand MSExchangeIS, and then expand 9000 Private.

  5. Click each of the following categories to view the current logging level:

    • Message Access

    • Folder Access

    • Extended Send As

    • Extended Send On Behalf Of

  • Run the following command:

    Get-EventLogLevel MSExchangeIS\9000*\*

For detailed syntax and parameter information, see Get-EventLogLevel.

  1. Start the Exchange Management Shell, and then run the following command:

    Set-Location "HKLM:\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\MSExchangeIS\Diagnostics\9000 Private"
  2. Run the following command to list the logging levels that are currently set:

    Get-ItemProperty .

For detailed syntax and parameter information, see Get-ItemProperty.