How to Cancel a Job
Updated: April 21, 2010
Applies To: System Center Data Protection Manager 2010
Data Protection Manager (DPM) enables you to cancel single or multiple jobs, such as recoveries, synchronization, recovery points, or consistency checks. For example, if a recovery is negatively affecting network performance, you can cancel the job and run it again.
To cancel a job
In DPM Administrator Console, click Monitoring on the navigation bar, and then click the Jobs tab.
Select Status from the pull-down menu in the Group by field.
Select the scheduled job, and then in the Actions pane, click Cancel.
In the Data Protection Manager message box that appears, click Yes to confirm that you want to cancel the job.
Note When you cancel a scheduled job, it is deleted, so you cannot retry it. However, if a job fails or is canceled by DPM, you can select that failed job and use the Retry command to run it again. When you cancel a scheduled job, only that specific job is canceled, not the other jobs scheduled for the same time, and no alert is displayed. For example, if you cancel a synchronization job at 9:00 A.M. on a Tuesday, the 9:00 A.M. synchronization job still occurs, as scheduled, on all subsequent days, including the following Tuesday. Sometimes when you cancel a job, the job completes before it can be canceled. This happens when you cancel a job that completes quickly or one that is already near completion.