Disabling or Enabling a Chat Room
Topic Last Modified: 2011-01-24
If the topic of a chat room is no longer relevant, you can make the chat room unavailable to users by disabling it. When a chat room is disabled, all its members are removed, and it is removed from My Channels in every member’s Microsoft Lync 2010 Group Chat console. Users cannot rejoin it or find it in chat room searches.
A disabled chat room can be enabled later. If a chat room is disabled, its membership list and other settings are preserved. If you enable it again, you do not have to manually re-create the settings.
If the chat room’s history persists, the content is preserved when the chat room is disabled. However, that content will not appear in searches as long as the chat room remains in a disabled state. If you later enable the chat room, users can search messages that were posted before the chat room was disabled.
Click Start, point to All Programs, point to Microsoft Lync Server 2010, and then click Microsoft Lync Server 2010, Group Chat Admin Tool.
In the Chat Rooms list, click the chat room.
Select or clear the Disable this chat room check box.