Major types (form) [AX 2012]

Updated: May 24, 2011

Applies To: Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R3, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R2, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 Feature Pack, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012

Click Fixed assets > Setup > Major types.

Use this form to identify high-level asset groups, such as Equipment, Buildings, Land, Infrastructure, and Utilities. Major types are used for reporting only.

If you create a customized report that includes major types, the major types typically appear at the highest level, followed by asset types, fixed asset groups, and then assets. You must assign an asset type and fixed asset group to each asset, but a major type is optional.

You can set up and assign names to an unlimited number of major types. A major type is useful for grouping assets beyond the following asset types that are provided:

  • Tangible

  • Intangible

  • Financial

  • Land and buildings

  • Goodwill

  • Other

Select a major type for a fixed asset group in the Fixed asset groups form, and for a fixed asset in the Fixed assets form. The major type from the fixed asset group provides the default value for the fixed asset.

You can delete major types only if they are not selected for fixed asset groups and fixed assets.

The following table provides descriptions for the controls in this form.



Major type

Enter the unique identifier for the major type.

After you save the major type, you cannot change this field.


Enter a short description of the major type.

You can change the description at any time.

Announcements: To see known issues and recent fixes, use Issue search in Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS).