Act on a task (Enterprise Portal) [AX 2012]

Updated: April 13, 2011

Applies To: Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R3, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R2, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 Feature Pack, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012

A task is a unit of work that is associated with a specific business document. For example, a purchase requisition workflow might have a task that requires that you:

  • Add a vendor to each line item on the purchase requisition.

  • Call the vendors listed on the purchase requisition.

To act on a task that is assigned to you, follow these steps:

  1. View the document that has the task associated with it.


    If your organization uses Role Centers, you can use the Work list Web part to view the tasks assigned to you. For more information, see View your work items (Enterprise Portal).

  2. Review the workflow message bar for information about the task. Click the icon on the message bar to view detailed instructions about the task.

  3. A task can be assigned to multiple people; however, only one person can complete the task. If this task is assigned to multiple people, but you want to complete it, click Actions > Accept. This indicates that you will complete the task.

  4. Click Actions and then click one of the following options.


    The options that you see may vary, depending on how this task was configured.

    • Complete – You have completed the task.

    • Reject – Reject the document. The workflow process will end. However, the originator can resubmit the document, with or without changes.

    • Request change – Request changes to the document.

    • Delegate – Reassign the task to another user.

    • Reassign – Reassign the task to another work item queue.

    • Release – You cannot complete the task. The document will be reassigned back to the work item queue so that another user can complete it.

    • View history – View the workflow status and history of the document.

Announcements: To see known issues and recent fixes, use Issue search in Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS).