CHttpModule::OnAuthenticateRequest Method

IIS 7.0

Represents the method that will handle an AuthenticateRequest event, which occurs when IIS establishes the identity of a user.

virtual REQUEST_NOTIFICATION_STATUS OnAuthenticateRequest(
   IN IHttpContext* pHttpContext,
   IN IAuthenticationProvider* pProvider


[IN] A pointer to an IHttpContext interface.


[IN] A pointer to an IAuthenticationProvider interface.

When a request-level module is registered for the RQ_AUTHENTICATE_REQUEST event notification, IIS will call the module's OnAuthenticateRequest method when IIS establishes the identity of a user.


Request-level modules can register for the AuthenticateRequest event notification by registering for RQ_AUTHENTICATE_REQUEST in the module's RegisterModule function.


The following code example demonstrates how to create a request-level HTTP module that registers for the RQ_AUTHENTICATE_REQUEST event and post-event notifications. When IIS prepares to establish the identity of a user, it will call the example module's OnAuthenticateRequest and OnPostAuthenticateRequest methods. Each method will write an entry in the application log of the Windows Event Viewer. When processing is complete, the module will exit.

Your module must export the RegisterModule function. You can export this function by creating a module definition (.def) file for your project, or you can compile the module by using the /EXPORT:RegisterModule switch. For more information, see Walkthrough: Creating a Request-Level HTTP Module By Using Native Code.

You can optionally compile the code by using the __stdcall (/Gz) calling convention instead of explicitly declaring the calling convention for each function.





  • IIS 7.0 on Windows Vista

  • IIS 7.5 on Windows 7

  • IIS 8.0 on Windows 8

  • IIS 10.0 on Windows 10


  • IIS 7.0 on Windows Server 2008

  • IIS 7.5 on Windows Server 2008 R2

  • IIS 8.0 on Windows Server 2012

  • IIS 8.5 on Windows Server 2012 R2

  • IIS 10.0 on Windows Server 2016 Technical Preview


  • IIS 7.0, IIS 7.5, IIS 8.0, IIS 8.5, IIS 10.0

  • IIS Express 7.5, IIS Express 8.0, IIS Express 10.0