Apply SLAs to entities

Dynamics CRM 2016

Updated: November 29, 2016

Applies To: Dynamics 365 (online), Dynamics 365 (on-premises), Dynamics CRM 2016, Dynamics CRM Online

Service level agreements (SLAs) in Microsoft Dynamics 365 help you define the level of service or support that your organization agrees to offer a customer by including items to define metrics or key performance indicators (KPIs) to attain the service level. You can apply SLAs to custom entities and the following system entities:

  • All activity entities (such as Email, Task, and Appointment) except recurring appointments (RecurringAppointmentMaster)

  • Account

  • Contact

  • Invoice

  • Incident (Case)

  • Opportunity

  • Quote

  • Lead

  • SalesOrder (Order)


SLA support for entities, in addition to the Incident entity, was introduced in CRM Online 2016 Update 1 and Dynamics 365 Service Pack 1 (on-premises).

To apply SLAs to an entity, you must set the IsSLAEnabled attribute to true for the entity. You can’t change this setting after it’s been enabled. By default, the Incident entity is enabled for SLAs.

You can also use the customization tool to enable entities for SLAs. More information: Help & Training: Enable entities for service level agreements

After you have enabled an entity forSLAs, new SLA-related attributes, such as SLAId and SLAInvokedId, will be automatically added to the entity.

To programmatically create SLA KPIs for an entity, create a lookup attribute on any SLA-enabled entity, and then set a relationship for that attribute to the SLAKPIInstance entity.

Using the Dynamics 365 web client, you can create SLAs for an SLA-enabled entity, and set an SLA as default for the entity so that it is applied automatically to any new entity records.

However, if you want to manually apply SLAs to entity records based on any custom business requirement, you can programmatically update the entity record to set the SLAId attribute value to the desired active SLA record.

In Dynamics 365 (online), the following limitations are applicable for SLAs per Dynamics 365 instance (organization):

  • You can have a maximum of 7 entities that can have active SLAs. You will encounter an error on activating an SLA if this limit is exceeded.

  • You can have a maximum of 5 SLA KPIs per entity for active SLAs. You will encounter an error on activating an SLA if this limit is exceeded. This limit is not applicable for the Incident entity.

These limits aren't applicable for Dynamics 365 on-premises.

Microsoft Dynamics 365

© 2016 Microsoft. All rights reserved. Copyright