Skip to main content


Wired and Wireless Networking with 802.1X Authentication

Microsoft Windows includes support for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.1X standard to authenticate connections to wired LAN devices such as Ethernet switches and wireless access points. Supported wireless standards are 802.11a, 802.11g, 802.11n, and 802.11b (also known as Wi-Fi).

Featured Content
for Wireless Networking

Setting up a home wireless network? Get help with Windows 7 or Windows Vista.


Windows Server 2008
and Windows Vista
Resources for Wired Networking


Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP Resources for Wireless Networking