How to Merge a Checkpoint
Use the following procedure to merge a checkpoint when you no longer need to recover a virtual machine to its state when the checkpoint was created. When you merge a checkpoint, the checkpoint files are deleted, freeing disk space.
When you merge a checkpoint, all checkpoints that were created after the current checkpoint also are merged. You will not be able to restore the virtual machine to any state that was saved after that checkpoint.
|When you restore a virtual machine to a checkpoint, user files on the virtual machine are restored to their previous state. To avoid loss of user data, if the virtual machine has been in use since the checkpoint was created, be sure to back up the data files before you restore the virtual machine.|
In Virtual Machines view, expand All Hosts in the navigation pane, and then navigate to the host on which the virtual machine is deployed.
In the results pane, click the virtual machine, and then, in the Actions pane, click Manage checkpoints.
On the Checkpoints tab in Virtual Machine Properties, select the checkpoint that you want to merge, and then click Merge.
If checkpoints were saved after the checkpoint that you are merging, you will see a warning message advising that you will be unable to restore the virtual machine to those states.
To save the checkpoint, at the confirmation prompt, click OK.